Appearance Enhancement Business
SHARE

Contact Executive Order - Extending Expiration Date of License

Executive Order – Extending expiration date of license

Effective March 27, 2020, pursuant to Executive Order 202.11, any license issued by the Division of Licensing Services or New York State Athletic Commission, that expires after that date, shall remain in effect until June 9, 2021. Further, the Appraisal Subcommittee of the Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council, has advised that appraisers within New York have been granted a 90-day deferment for meeting continuing education requirements. Any license holder that is eligible to renew and does not need the extension is encouraged to do so; all other license holders may rely on the above extensions. IF YOU ARE HAVING DIFFICULTY FINDING AN AVAILABLE CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE, PLEASE CONTACT THE DEPARTMENT AT (518) 474-4429. ALL REQUIRED CONTINUING EDUCATION MUST BE COMPLETED ON OR BEFORE June 9, 2021.

Please note licensees who submit a renewal after the expiration date printed on their license but by June 9, 2021 will see a change in their license term dates upon renewal, however, our office will maintain a record of the EO extension and your license will considered continuous licensure for this period.

Overview

An Appearance Enhancement Business License allows an individual to operate an Appearance Enhancement establishment that provides any or all of the services included in the practice of cosmetology, esthetics, nail specialty, natural hair styling and/or waxing. It is the responsibility of licensees to understand the Appearance Enhancement License Law.

Term of licensure is four years.

All beauty treatment specialists as well as all spas and salons must be licensed to legally operate within New York State. The state has five different designations for beauty specialists, listed below. Click on the occupation that may be of interest to you. Follow the links to learn about licensing and exam information. It is the responsibility of licensees to understand the Appearance Enhancement Law.


COVID-19 Alerts

ALERT: To professionals in the appearance enhancement industry, please continue to follow key guidelines to keep your employees and customers safe.

For guidance on operating personal care services during the COVID-19 Public Health Emergency, please click here.  

For guidance on operating hair salons and barbershops during the COVID-19 Public Health Emergency, please click here.

Additional information on the guidelines for New York State can be found at https://forward.ny.gov/.

 

Domestic Violence Awareness

Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault Awareness Training
OPDV DOS Joint Statement
WATCH: I Am ABLE
I Am ABLE Card
The Key to Protecting Your Address Brochure (English)
The Key to Protecting Your Address Brochure (Espanol)

 

Governor's Message on Worker Exploitation

Requirements

  • Be 18 years old
  • comply with all federal, state and local health and safety laws, rules, regulations and codes, including the Americans with Disabilities Act
  • operate the business or rent at the location listed on the license.

Owners of an appearance enhancement shop shall conspicuously post a sign at the entrance of the business indicating that the business and individual operators are licensed by the New York State Department of State and that rules and regulations governing the business and practices are available for review upon request.

  • must maintain a surety bond; accidental and professional liability insurance policies, each in the minimum amount of $25,000 per occurrence and $75,000 in the aggregate; or a general liability policy in such amounts.

You must submit evidence of this requirement at the time of your application. In addition, evidence of such must be maintained on the premises.

  • must maintain a Wage Bond as described below.

Wages legally due to workers and other providers of nail services of:

  1. At least $25,000 if you employ the equivalent of two to five full time individuals who provide nail specialty services
  2. At least $40,000 if you employ the equivalent of six to ten full time individuals who provide nail specialty services
  3. At least $75,000 if you employ the equivalent of 11 to 25 full time individuals who provide nail specialty services
  4. At least $125,000 if you employ the equivalent of 26 or more full time individuals who provide nail specialty services.

The liability coverage may be obtained by purchasing a bond in favor of the people of the State of New York; accidental and professional liability or general liability insurance; or a combination of the previous options provided that the coverage amounts are satisfied. You must provide evidence of this requirement at the time of your application. In addition, evidence of such must be maintained on the premises.

Fees

There are fees associated an Appearance Enhancement Business/Area Renter license. You may pay these fees by check or money order made payable to the Department of State or by MasterCard or Visa using a credit card authorization form.

  1. $60 - Initial Application
  2. $60 - Renewal
  3. $0 - Change of Personal Name
  4. $10 - Change of Address
  5. $10 - Duplicate License/Registration Request

Renew or Update

Renew Your License

An Appearance Enhancement Business license is good for four years. Your license expiration date is printed on the license.

You are eligible to renew your license three months prior to the expiration date, all renewals must be done online.

Update Your License

You are able to update your existing license through an online account. Updates include:

duplicate license requests

name change

address change

contact change (social security number, date of birth, email address, phone number)

Visit the License Center to log in or create your account.

Advisory Committee

NYS Licensing Center Renewal Guide

License Center Amendments Guide

NY Licensing Center Claiming Record(s) Guide

Apply

To apply for a license, please select the below link and submit your application through the online system:
 

Apply 


Using the online services provides a quicker turnaround time on the processing of your application. It will allow you to view your record, track the status of your application, view exams scores and complete amendment transactions through your online account.

Please refer to the below useful user guides to assist you with this online application process:

Quick Online Application Instruction Flyer (pdf)

Applicant User Guide for the License Center (doc)

For further information on the online system, please visit our Frequently Asked Questions: Frequently Asked Questions about the NYS License Center

Additional Forms/Information:

Self-Inspection Checklist for Appearance Enhancement Business Owners

Credit Card Authorization Form

Licensee Search

The following license data is available on the Open NY portal where you will be able to browse, filter, sort and export the data. The site will also allow the data to be accessed through an Application Programming Interface (API):

<="">Open NY portal (Appearance Enhancement and Barber Businesses)

Searches are limited to active licenses only. 

You must go to the License Center and select Search for a Licensee.

Every effort has been made to ensure that the information contained on this site is up to date and accurate. As the Department relies upon information provided to it, the information's completeness or accuracy cannot be guaranteed.

Please note that information pertaining to residence addresses is not included on this database. Such information is protected by privacy law.

 

Nail Salons: Important Information

The New York Department of State ("Department") has created several new handouts and educational materials concerning new rules relating to ventilation. If your business offers nail specialty services, the Department advises you to review these materials and contact us if you have any questions. All materials are available below.

To help your business comply with the new regulations, the Department has created:

  • General Guidance - Overview of the New Regulations
  • The Business Owner's How to Guide to Ventilation
  • Important Tips & Information After an Inspection
  • Technical Specifications for Contractors and Professionals
  • Useful Resources Guide and Helpful Links
  • FAQs Relating to Ventilation
     

more information

FAQs

What is an “Appearance Enhancement” Business?

An Appearance Enhancement Business is one that provides any or all of the services licensed under Article 27 of the General Business Law (Cosmetology, Esthetics, Nail Specialty, Natural Hair Styling or Waxing). You must obtain a license to own, control or operate an Appearance Enhancement Business in New York State. This is required regardless of whether you are a sole proprietor, partner, shareholder, officer or independent contractor (Area Renter). An Appearance Enhancement Business license does not allow you to provide customer services. Each person who provides service must be licensed by the Department of State in his or her respective discipline. Additionally, as a licensed Appearance Enhancement Business, you cannot permit the practice of Barbering at your business location without first obtaining a Barber Shop license (Article 28 of the General Business Law). Apprentice Barbers must be sponsored by a licensed master Barber (not a licensed Natural Hair Stylist) and cannot be employed by an Appearance Enhancement Business.

What is an “Area Renter”?

An Area Renter is a licensed operator who works in an Appearance Enhancement Business but who is not employed by the owner. If you are an Area Renter, you are an independent contractor and must obtain an Area Renter license in addition to your operator’s license. An Area Renter’s license alone does not allow you to provide customer services.

Is there a NYS Appearance Enhancement Advisory Committee?

Yes. NYS Appearance Enhancement Advisory Committee

What are the ventilation requirements if my appearance enhancement business offers nail services?

The New York State Department of State requires all Appearance Enhancement Businesses offering nail services to provide ventilation to capture and exhaust harmful contaminants, fumes and particles away from clients and workers.  To obtain Information pertaining to these requirements and time frames for compliance click here.

What should I do if I close my shop?

You should notify this department of shop closure. An Appearance Enhancement Business may be closed by downloading the Business Closing Form (DOS-1960) from our website and mailing the completed form to our office. There is no fee for the notification of closure. When a shop closes it will cancel all Area Renter licenses associated with it; any Area Renter associated with the closed shop must apply for a new Area Renter license to be associated with a new shop. You may also submit this request online.

What do I do if the shop I’m renting in closes?

When the Appearance Enhancement Business you rent from closes it will cancel your Area Renter license. You must apply for a new

Area Renter license to be associated with a new business. You may also submit this request online.

How do I register for an account within the NYS License Center (NYSLC)?
In order to register for an account within the NYS License Center (NYSLC), you must first register with My NY.gov. If you are not currently registered with My NY.gov, from our website http://www.dos.ny.gov/licensing/licensecenter.html Click on the ‘Create my Account’ link, this brings you to the My NY.gov registration site; select ‘I need a NY.Gov ID’ and follow the registration for My NY.gov. Once you are registered with My NY.gov, select the NYS License Center option from the options available to you on My NY.gov. In the NYS License Center, click on the ‘Account Management’ link in the top right hand corner. Complete the required fields and this data will pre-populate on all new applications created using your account. Once you have completed and saved this data, click on the ‘Home’ tab to proceed.


What if I already have a My NY.gov Account?
If you are already registered with My NY.gov, go to My NY.gov and sign in, then select the NYS License Center option from the options available to you on My NY.gov. This will create your NYS License Center Account. In the NYS License Center, click on the ‘Account Management’ link in the top right hand corner. Complete the required fields and this data will pre-populate on all new application created using your account. Once you have completed and saved this data, click on the ‘Home’ tab to proceed.


How do I apply for a license in NYS License Center?
To apply for a license at NYS License Center, you must create an account or login to your existing account. Follow these steps to apply for your license online:

• Register for an Account or Login to your account (see “How do I register for an account within the NYS License Center (NYSLC)” above)’
• Once you are logged in to NYS License Center, on the ‘Home’ tab select ‘Apply now for a new license or permit’
• Follow the application instructions provided online
• Upload any supporting documentation
• Make payment and print confirmation page


You will be able to log in to your account and view the status of your application.

How do I create an additional license online?
To apply for an additional license, login to your account and click on the ‘Manage My Licenses’ tab and then select the ‘Apply now! For a New License or Permit’ link. Read and accept the terms and conditions and the system will guide you from there.

If I apply online for my initial license, should I also mail my application?
No.  Applicants who apply online do not need to submit their application or follow up paperwork to our office unless the applicant is sent an email or a letter specifically requesting additional documentation.


I submitted my application online, but I do not have a scanner, can I submit my supporting documentation in the mail?
Yes, submit your application confirmation page, which includes your application number, along with the supporting documentation.


What is the process for affirming an Appearance Enhancement or Barbershop Area Renter?
When an Area Renter applies online using the NYS License Center, they are required to identify the shop and shop owner within the business they are renting. The shop owner will be notified of the application and provided with instructions on how to complete the Shop Owner Affirmation.


How long can my application remain “pending”?
A saved application that has not been submitted will remain pending for 6 months. A submitted application with no additional activity will remain pending for one year.


How do I check the status of my application?
You may track the status of your application by logging in to your NYS License Center account. On the ‘Manage My Licenses’ tab, the process of your application is tracked in the ‘Status’ column in your list of records.


What is an Amendment?
An Amendment is a change of information transaction that can be completed in NYS License Center. This includes the following amendments:

  1. Address Change Amendment
  2. Change of Supervising Barber Amendment
  3. Nail Trainee Change of Supervisor/Business
  4. Close Business Amendment
  5. Contact Information Change Amendment
  6. Duplicate License Amendment
  7. Name Change Amendment


How do I file an Amendment to my license online?
Log into your account. Go to ‘Manage My Licenses’ to view your records. Under ‘Action’ click ‘Amendment‘ next to the record you wish to amend. Select the Amendment Type; this includes the following Amendments:

  1. Address Change Amendment (An Address Change Amendment may be filed when you are changing your home, mailing, or business address)
  2. Change of Supervising Barber Amendment
  3. Nail Trainee Change of Supervisor/Business
  4. Close Business Amendment
  5. Contact Information Change Amendment:

Contact Information Change Amendment allows you to change the following:

  1. Social Security Number
  2. Date of Birth
  3. Email Address
  4. Phone Number

You must provide a brief description of the reason for your change request.  *Note: When changing your Social Security Number and/or date of birth you will be required to provide documentation in order for these changes to be processed.

  1. Duplicate License Amendment
  2. Name Change Amendment (documentation required)


What do I do if I’m changing the name of my business?
If you are changing the name of your business you must apply for a new Appearance Enhancement Business or Area Renter license. There is a fee for this transaction. You must then file a Close of Business amendment at no charge.

Once a Close of Business amendment is submitted, all associated Area Renter licenses will become cancelled.  Any Area Renters will need to apply for a new license with the new business name.


I’m an area renter and the business I rent from is changing the name, what do I do?
If the business name is changing you must apply for a new Appearance Enhancement Business or Area Renter Application to obtain a license with the correct name.  Your license associated with the old name is cancelled.  You may apply for your new Area Renter license at NYSLC.


What do I do if the shop I’m renting in closes?
When the barber shop you rent from closes it will cancel your Area Renter license. You must apply for a new Area Renter license to be associated with a new business. You may also submit this request online.


What do I do if my business closes or if I want to close my business?
You can close your Appearance Enhancement Business online. You must login to your account; click on the ‘Manage My Licenses’ tab; select the license for the business you want to close and click the ‘Amendment’ link; select ‘Close Business Amendment’; complete the application as directed. You will receive an email confirming the closure of your business. There is no fee for notifying our office of your business closure. Please note * when your Appearance Enhancement business is closed any Area Renter’s license associated with your business will also become cancelled.


What happens if the shop changes ownership?
If the business changes ownership for any reason, a new Appearance Enhancement Business or Area Renter application must be submitted. For a quicker turnaround time, we encourage you to apply online using the NYS License Center at
www.dos.ny.gov/licensing.  All associated Area Renters will need to reapply as their associated licenses will be cancelled.


What if the shop changes physical location?
An address amendment needs to be completed for the business and all associated Area Renters with the new address.  Area Renters must update the address to keep their licenses current.  Go to NYSLC to complete the address amendment. Log into your account and go to ‘Manage My Licenses’ to view your records. Under ‘Action’ click ‘Amendment‘  next to the record you wish to amend. Select ‘Address Change Amendment’ and follow the instructions provided in the online application.


How do I change my home address associated with my license?
Go to NYS License Center to complete an Address Change amendment. Log into your account. Go to ‘Manage My Licenses’ to view your records. Under ‘Action’ click ‘Amendment‘  next to the record you wish to amend. Select ‘Address Change Amendment’ and follow the instructions provided in the online application.


How do I change my name associated with my license?
A Name Change Amendment may be filed for a change in your personal name. Go to NYS License Center to complete a Name Change amendment. Log into your account. Go to ‘Manage My Licenses’ to view your records. Under ‘Action’ click ‘Amendment‘ next to the record you wish to amend. Select ‘Name Change Amendment’ and follow the instructions provided in the online application. You will be required to provide documentation.

How do I request a duplicate copy of my license?
To request a duplicate copy of your license, go to NYS License Center and log into your account. Go to ‘Manage My Licenses’ to view your records. Under ‘Action’ click ‘Amendment‘ next to the record you wish to amend. Select ‘Duplicate License Amendment’ and follow the instruction provided in the online application.


Can I update my name and/or address on my renewal?
No. You must complete an amendment online separately at NYSLC to update your name and/or address.


My License has expired, should I submit a new application?
No. If your license status is ‘expired’ you should NOT submit a new application, you should renew your existing license. You should register for an account and claim your existing record. Once you have claimed your record, your license will be available to renew. Instructions for creating an account and claiming a record can be found here
. Do not submit a new application.


Why must I renew online?
Appearance Enhancement and Barber licenses must be renewed online. Using online services provides a quicker turnaround time on your renewal and it allows you to view and access your renewal records throughout the renewal/license process.


How can I add my email address to my existing license(s) so I may receive emails when it is time to renew?

  1. Once you have claimed your records
  2. Click on “Manage My Records”
  3. Click on Amendment link on your license record:
    1. select Contact Information Change Amendment; click continue application;
    2. Individual or Business will show up for Contact Type to Change, click appropriate box then click continue application
    3. Click on Email Address, it will bring up a box to insert your email address and a box for an explanation of why you are changing your information.
    4. Insert your email address and add a brief explanation in box below it such as “I am adding my email address to my records”. Click continue application.
    5. A list of records to change will appear, be sure to place a check on all records, then click continue application,
    6. It gives you an opportunity to upload documentation (not required), click continue application
    7. a review screen will appear, verify information and click continue application
    8. A confirmation box will appear that states your amendment has been submitted.

How do I renew my license online?
Your license expiration date is printed on the license. You are eligible to renew your license three months prior to the expiration date. Once you create an account and claim your record, you can login to your NYS License Center account. Select the ‘Manage My Licenses’ tab to see your list of records, the status of your license shows as ‘About to Expire’. Under the ‘Action’ column, click on ‘Renew Application’, complete the renewal application, including uploading any documentation you are instructed to provide. Review your completed information and check out. After submitting payment you receive a confirmation that your application has been successfully submitted. This does NOT necessarily mean that your renewal has been approved. When your application is approved you will receive an additional email notifying you that your renewal has been issued.


If my license has expired can I renew online?
Yes. Your NYS License Center account is always available for you to log into and find out the status of your license and perform license transactions.  Your renewal application is generated three months prior to expiration and the renewal link remains available for you to access and to renew your license until your license becomes inactive.


What if my license is inactive?
This means that your license has been expired for over 5 years for an operator, 2 years for a business license or 2 years for a barber apprentice and you are no longer eligible to renew this license. If your license status is inactive, you must reapply.


How do I know my license was renewed successfully online?
Once you submit your online renewal for processing, you receive a Confirmation page indicating that your renewal has been submitted along with an email confirming your renewal. This does not mean your license is renewed. Your renewal application is reviewed to make sure it is complete and meets the qualifications for renewal. You will receive an additional email upon issuance of your license.

You may track the status of your renewal on the ‘Manage My Licenses’ tab. The process of your renewal is tracked in the ‘Status’ column in your list of records.

Contact

Mailing Information:

Albany Mailing Address
NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
P.O. Box 22001
Albany, NY 12201-2001

To ensure prompt delivery of your mail, it is important that you utilize the above mailing address.

Please note: If you utilize express services or next day ground services such as UPS, Federal Express, DHL, etc. you should use the physical address of the building.
The physical address of the Albany location is:

Albany Physical Address
Division of Licensing Services
1 Commerce Plaza
99 Washington Avenue, 6th Floor
Albany, NY 12231


Phone Information:

General Information (518) 474-4429
Security Guard and Armored Car Guard Information (518) 474-7569

Call Center Representatives are available from 8:30am to 4:30pm Monday through Friday except on Legal Holidays.

Deaf, hard of hearing and speech-disabled callers, please use 7-1-1

For all other inquiries, email Licensing Services


Please monitor this page for updates to office closures.

Out of an abundance of caution and in line with recent guidance issued by the Center for Disease Control and New York State, In Person Customer Services Centers are currently closed due to COVID-19. All customers should call (518) 474-4429. Call Center Representatives are available from 8:45am to 4:30pm Monday through Friday except on Legal Holidays.

Visitor Information:

Parking
Limited on street metered parking is available for 1 Commerce Plaza in Albany. The Office of General Services has various parking lots throughout downtown Albany which have limited visitor parking. To find out more information about the OGS lots, please visit their website. 

Albany: This office is closed until further notice
NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
1 Commerce Plaza
99 Washington Avenue, 6th Floor
Albany, NY 12231
(Customer Service hours 9:00am - 4:30pm)

New York City: 
This office is closed until further notice
NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
123 William St. 2nd Fl.
New York, NY 10038-3804
(Licensing Services customer service hours 9:00am to 4:30pm)
(Apostille/Certification of Authentication customer service hours 9:00am to 3:30pm)


Binghamton: This office is closed until further notice
NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
State Office Building 44 Hawley Street, Room 1506
Binghamton, NY 13901-4455

(518) 474-4429 (customer service hours 9:00am to 3:00pm)

Buffalo: 
This office is closed until further notice
NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
65 Court Street, Room 208
Buffalo, NY 14202-3471

(518) 474-4429 (customer service hours 9:00am - 3:00pm)

Hauppauge: 
This office is closed until further notice
NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
State Office Building
250 Veterans Memorial Highway
Hauppauge, NY 11788-5519

(518) 474-4429 (customer service hours 9:00am to 3:00pm)

Utica: 
This office is closed until further notice
NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
State Office Building
207 Genesee Street
Utica, NY 13501-2812

(518) 474-4429 (customer service hours 9:00am to 3:00pm)