Armored Car Guard
SHARE

Contact Executive Order - Extending Expiration Date of License

Executive Order – Extending expiration date of license

Effective March 27, 2020, pursuant to Executive Order 202.11, any license issued by the Division of Licensing Services or New York State Athletic Commission, that expires after that date, shall remain in effect until June 9, 2021. Further, the Appraisal Subcommittee of the Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council, has advised that appraisers within New York have been granted a 90-day deferment for meeting continuing education requirements. Any license holder that is eligible to renew and does not need the extension is encouraged to do so; all other license holders may rely on the above extensions. IF YOU ARE HAVING DIFFICULTY FINDING AN AVAILABLE CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE, PLEASE CONTACT THE DEPARTMENT AT (518) 474-4429. ALL REQUIRED CONTINUING EDUCATION MUST BE COMPLETED ON OR BEFORE June 9, 2021.

Please note licensees who submit a renewal after the expiration date printed on their license but by June 9, 2021 will see a change in their license term dates upon renewal, however, our office will maintain a record of the EO extension and your license will considered continuous licensure for this period.

Overview

An Armored Car Guard is an individual employed by a licensed armored car carrier to:

  1. provide secured transportation;
  2. protect and safeguard valuable cargo from one place to another; or
  3. provide cash services for automated teller machines, all by means of bullet-resistant armored vehicles.

Additionally, an armored car guard possesses or has access to a firearm. Excluded from registration are those armored car employees who may drive or accompany the armored car vehicle, but who do not carry or are not authorized to access a firearm. It is the responsibility of licensees to understand the Armored Car Carriers and Armored Car Guards License Law.

Term of registration is two years

laws, rules and regulations 

Requirements

  • Submit a completed application and the required fee to the Department of State.
  • Armored car guards must hold either a conditional letter of authority or a valid registration card immediately.
  • Proof of Fingerprint completion.
  • Have a current NYS photo driver’s license or non-driver ID card
  • 47 hour firearms training and 8 hour firearms annual in service training recognized by the Division of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS).

See FAQs for Police or Peace Officer Training Waiver eligibility.

Fees

There are fees associated with an Armored Car Guard registration. You may pay these fees by check or money order made payable to the Department of State or by MasterCard or Visa using a credit card authorization form. DO NOT SEND CASH. Application fees are nonrefundable. A $20 fee will be charged for any check returned by your bank.

  • $50.00 - Initial Application
  • $50.00 - Renewal
  • $88.75 - Fingerprinting Fee (payable to IDEMIA)
  • $25.00 - Change of Personal Name and/or Address (No fee is required if a name change is the result of a change in marital status)
  • $25.00 - Duplicate License/Registration Request

Renew or Update

Renew Your License

You are eligible to renew your license 90 days prior to your license expiration date. Your license expiration date is printed on the license.

Renewal forms are mailed approximately 90 days prior to the license expiration date. Complete and submit the renewal form to the address on the form.

If you are eligible to renew your license and you have not received a renewal form, email the Division of Licensing Services and request a form. Your email must include your full name, mailing address, license type, unique identification number and expiration date of your license.

Update Your License

To update your personal name, business or residence address, download, complete and submit the Change Notice to the address on the form.

To request a duplicate license certificate, download, complete and submit the Duplicate License/Registration Request to the address on the form.

Change Notice

Duplicate License/Registration Request

Apply

To apply for an Armored Car Guard registration, submit a completed application to the NYS Department of State, Division of Licensing Services.

Armored Car Guard Application

DMV Consent Form

Credit Card Authorization Form

Licensee Search

Searches are limited to active licenses only. 

  • Search by ID Number (Unique ID or Registration Number)
  • Search by Name (last name, first name and optionally city/zip code/county)
  • Search by Business Name (business name and optionally city/zip code/county)

Every effort has been made to ensure that the information contained on this site is up to date and accurate. As the Department relies upon information provided to it, the information's completeness or accuracy cannot be guaranteed.

Please note that information pertaining to residence addresses is not included on this database. Such information is protected by privacy law.

FAQs

Is a copy of my training certificate acceptable?

Yes

Am I eligible for a training waiver?

If you can demonstrate to the satisfaction of DCJS that you have already taken training which meets or exceeds the 47-hour firearms training, you may be eligible for a waiver.

Active duty police officers must register with the Department of State to perform services as an armored car guard. Active duty police officers are not required to complete any firearms training. However, you must submit a certification of status with your application for armored car guard. This certifies that you are an active duty police officer in good standing. Certifications of status must be on official letterhead and be signed by either the chief or personnel officer.

Individuals previously employed as police officers are considered civilians. A police officer who has retired within the last five years, may qualify for a waiver from the 47-hour firearms training.

Individuals who are no longer active duty police officers and do not qualify for a waiver, must complete the 47-hour firearms training course.

Active duty peace officers must register with the Department of State to perform services as an armored car guard. Active duty peace officers may be exempt from further firearms training if you have already taken training which meets or exceeds the 47-hour firearms training.

Active duty peace officers who have completed the basic course for peace officers with long firearms may submit their basic course certificates with their applications.

A certificate for the basic course is valid for five years from the date of retirement. Retired peace officers who have had the long firearms training, may qualify for a waiver.

Individuals who are no longer active duty peace officers and do not have a valid basic course certificate, or do not qualify for a waiver, must complete the 47-hour firearms training course.

How do I request a training waiver from DCJS?

Waivers may be requested from DCJS by contacting them directly at (518) 457-4135, or writing them at DCJS, Alfred E. Smith Building 80 South Swan St., Albany, New York 12210. If approved, DCJS will provide a waiver letter to be submitted with the application.

Is there reciprocity?

Yes. Armored Car Industry Reciprocity

Are there any legal memoranda for Armored Car Guards?

Yes. Legal Memorandum LI06

Contact

Mailing Information:

Albany Mailing Address
NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
P.O. Box 22001
Albany, NY 12201-2001

To ensure prompt delivery of your mail, it is important that you utilize the above mailing address.

Please note: If you utilize express services or next day ground services such as UPS, Federal Express, DHL, etc. you should use the physical address of the building.
The physical address of the Albany location is:


Albany Physical Address
Division of Licensing Services
1 Commerce Plaza
99 Washington Avenue, 6th Floor
Albany, NY 12231


Phone Information:

General Information (518) 474-4429
Security Guard and Armored Car Guard Information (518) 474-7569

Call Center Representatives are available from 8:30am to 4:30pm Monday through Friday except on Legal Holidays.

Deaf, hard of hearing and speech-disabled callers, please use 7-1-1

For all other inquiries, email Licensing Services


Visitor Information:

Please monitor this page for updates to office closures.

Out of an abundance of caution and in line with recent guidance issued by the Center for Disease Control and New York State, In Person Customer Services Centers are currently closed due to COVID-19. All customers should call (518) 474-4429. Call Center Representatives are available from 8:45am to 4:30pm Monday through Friday except on Legal Holidays.
 

Parking
Limited on street metered parking is available for 1 Commerce Plaza in Albany. The Office of General Services has various parking lots throughout downtown Albany which have limited visitor parking. To find out more information about the OGS lots, please visit their website.  

Albany: This office is closed until further notice
NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
1 Commerce Plaza
99 Washington Avenue, 6th Floor
Albany, NY 12231
(Customer Service hours 9:00am - 4:30pm)

New York City: 
This office is closed until further notice
NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
123 William St. 2nd Fl.
New York, NY 10038-3804
(Licensing Services customer service hours 9:00am to 4:30pm)
(Apostille/Certification of Authentication customer service hours 9:00am to 3:30pm)

Binghamton: This office is closed until further notice
NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
State Office Building 44 Hawley Street, Room 1506
Binghamton, NY 13901-4455

(518) 474-4429 (customer service hours 9:00am to 3:00pm)

Buffalo: This office is closed until further notice
NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
65 Court Street, Room 208
Buffalo, NY 14202-3471

(518) 474-4429 (customer service hours 9:00am - 3:00pm)

Hauppauge: This office is closed until further notice
NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
State Office Building
250 Veterans Memorial Highway
Hauppauge, NY 11788-5519

(518) 474-4429 (customer service hours 9:00am to 3:00pm)

Utica: This office is closed until further notice
NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
State Office Building
207 Genesee Street
Utica, NY 13501-2812

(518) 474-4429 (customer service hours 9:00am to 3:00pm)