

Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
Bureau of Educational Standards
P.O. Box 22001
Albany, NY 12201-2001
(518) 486-3803
www.dos.ny.gov

New York State

Bail Enforcement Instructor Application

PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE

INSTRUCTOR'S NAME

PLEASE READ CAREFULLY, AS INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS WILL BE RETURNED.

HOME ADDRESS (NUMBER AND STREET; APT)		
CITY		STATE	ZIP+4
E-MAIL ADDRESS	(IF ANY)		
CURRENT OCCUP	ATION	BUSINESS PHONE NUMBER	HOME PHONE NUMBER
		()	()
BUSINESS ADDRE	SS (NUMBER AND STREET; ROOM/SUITE DESIGNATION)		
CITY		STATE	ZIP+4
obligation to in the payme plan or by p	prt Statement - By signing this application pay child support OR if I am under an obligaent of child support, or I am making payments an agreed to by the parties or my child support public assistance or supplemental security in	tion to pay child support, I am not fou by income execution or by court ago ort obligation is the subject of a pend	ur or more months in arrears reed payment or repayment
	ffirmation - In addition, I affirm under the pertements made in any accompanying papers,		s made in my application,
Applicant's S	ignature X		_ Date
FOR OFFICE	EFFECTIVE DATE:/ /	FEE RECEIVED: \$ T	O REVENUE://
USE ONLY	RECEIPT #: APPROVA	L MAILED:/	LABEL []

A fee of \$20 will be charged for any check returned by a bank for insufficient funds.

DOS-1546-f-a (Rev. 10/15) Page 1 of 2

Bail Enforcement Instructor Application

INSTRUCTIONS:

- » A \$25 non-refundable registration fee must accompany this original, signed application (photocopies are not acceptable). Fees must be paid by check or money order (made payable to the Department of State) or by MasterCard or Visa, using a credit card authorization form. Do not send cash.
- » An individual who wishes to teach any part of the 25 hour qualifying course must be an approved instructor. To obtain a copy of the current curriculum you should contact the Department of State at the address on the front of this application or call (518) 486-3803.
- » Child Support Statement. A Child Support Statement is mandatory in New York State (General Obligations Law) regardless of whether or not you have children or any support obligation. Any person who is four months or more in arrears in child support may be subject to having his or her business, professional and driver's licenses suspended. The intentional submission of a false written statement for the purpose of frustrating or defeating the lawful enforcement of support obligations is punishable under §175.35 of the Penal Law. It is a class E felony to offer a false instrument for filing with a state or local government with the intent to defraud.

You may meet the qualifications for Bail Enforcement Instructor by submitting a resume and proof of any one of the following:

- A) attorney status;
- B) police instructor status;
- C) FBI instructor status;
- D) a teacher's certificate from the New York State Education Department;
- E) five years of full-time experience as a police officer;
- F) a four-year college degree majoring in criminal justice; or
- G) five years full-time experience as a licensed private investigator with significant bail enforcement experience.

DOS-1546-f-a (Rev. 10/15) Page 2 of 2