hair dresser and business owner

Become an Appearance Enhancement Business

Become an Appearance Enhancement Business

Requirements

  • Be 18 years old
  • comply with all federal, state and local health and safety laws, rules, regulations and codes, including the Americans with Disabilities Act
  • operate the business or rent at the location listed on the license.

Owners of an appearance enhancement shop shall conspicuously post a sign at the entrance of the business indicating that the business and individual operators are licensed by the New York State Department of State and that rules and regulations governing the business and practices are available for review upon request.

  • must maintain a surety bond; accidental and professional liability insurance policies, each in the minimum amount of $25,000 per occurrence and $75,000 in the aggregate; or a general liability policy in such amounts.

You must submit evidence of this requirement at the time of your application. In addition, evidence of such must be maintained on the premises.

  • must maintain a Wage Bond as described below.

Wages legally due to workers and other providers of nail services of:

  1. At least $25,000 if you employ the equivalent of two to five full time individuals who provide nail specialty services
  2. At least $40,000 if you employ the equivalent of six to ten full time individuals who provide nail specialty services
  3. At least $75,000 if you employ the equivalent of 11 to 25 full time individuals who provide nail specialty services
  4. At least $125,000 if you employ the equivalent of 26 or more full time individuals who provide nail specialty services.

The liability coverage may be obtained by purchasing a bond in favor of the people of the State of New York; accidental and professional liability or general liability insurance; or a combination of the previous options provided that the coverage amounts are satisfied. You must provide evidence of this requirement at the time of your application. In addition, evidence of such must be maintained on the premises.

Fees

There are fees associated an Appearance Enhancement Business/Area Renter license. You may pay these fees by check or money order made payable to the Department of State or by MasterCard or Visa using a credit card authorization form.

$60 - Initial Application

$60 - Renewal

$10 - Name Change (unless the name change is a result in a change of marital status)

$10 - Change of Address

$10 - Duplicate License/Registration Request

Apply

To apply for a license, please select the below link and submit your application through the online system:

APPLY 


Using the online services provides a quicker turnaround time on the processing of your application. It will allow you to view your record, track the status of your application, view exams scores and complete amendment transactions through your online account.

Please refer to the below useful user guides to assist you with this online application process:

Quick Online Application Instruction Flyer (pdf)

Applicant User Guide for the License Center (doc)

For further information on the online system, please visit our Frequently Asked Questions: Frequently Asked Questions about the NYS License Center

FAQs

Contact Contact the Division of Licensing Services

Have a question regarding your license? First, see if your questions are answered in the FAQs above. Otherwise, the quickest way to get in touch with us is through email: Contact us here!


Mailing Information: 
NYS Department of State Division of Licensing Services 
PO Box 22001 
Albany NY 12201-2001 

Please note: If you utilize express services or next day ground services such as UPS, Federal Express, DHL, etc. you should use the physical address of the building. 

Albany Physical Address
Division of Licensing Services 
1 Commerce Plaza 99 Washington Avenue, 6th Floor 
Albany, NY 12231

Phone Information:
General Information (518) 474-4429 
Security Guard and Armored Car Guard Information (518) 474-7569 

Call Center Representatives are available from 8:45am to 4:30pm Monday through Friday except on Legal Holidays.

Deaf, hard of hearing and speech-disabled callers, please use 7-1-1

For all other inquiries, email Licensing Services

Visitor & Customer Service Center Information:
Below is a listing of Licensing Customer Service Centers and the hours of operation. Please monitor this page for updates to office hours, guidelines and or any closures. 

Albany: This office is open for all services.
NYS Department of State Division of Licensing Services 
1 Commerce Plaza 99 Washington Avenue, 6th Floor 
Albany, NY 12231 

Customer Service hours: Monday - Friday 9:00am to 4:30pm
Apostille Service hours: Monday – Friday 9:00am to 4:15pm 

Albany Parking 
Limited on street metered parking is available for 1 Commerce Plaza in Albany. The Office of General Services has various parking lots throughout downtown Albany which have limited visitor parking. To find out more information about the OGS lots, please visit their website.   

New York City: This office is open for all services.
NYS Department of State 
Division of Licensing Services 
123 William St. 2nd Fl. New York, NY 10038-3804

Customer Service hours: Monday - Friday 9:00am to 4:30pm
Apostille Service hours: Monday – Friday 9:00am to 4:00pm  

Binghamton: Effective July 7, 2023, Licensing Customer Service Center will be closed until further notice. Licensing examinations will continue to be held as scheduled. 
NYS Department of State 
Division of Licensing Services 
State Office Building 
44 Hawley Street, Room 1506 
Binghamton, NY 13901-4455 
(518) 474-4429 

Buffalo: Effective November 10, 2022, Licensing Customer Service Center will be closed until further notice. Licensing examinations will continue to be held as scheduled 
NYS Department of State 
Division of Licensing Services 
295 Main Street, 8th Floor, Suite 821 
Buffalo, NY 14203 
(518) 474-4429

Hauppauge: Effective June 21, 2023, Licensing Customer Service Center will be closed until further notice. Licensing examinations will continue to be held as scheduled.

NYS Department of State 
Division of Licensing Services 
State Office Building 
250 Veterans Memorial Highway 
Hauppauge, NY 11788-5519 
(518) 474-4429

Utica: This office is closed until further notice. Licensing examinations will continue to be held as scheduled

NYS Department of State 
Division of Licensing Services 
State Office Building 
207 Genesee Street Utica, NY 13501-2812 
(518) 474-4429