Barber using scissors and comb

Become a Barber

Steps to become a licensed barber.

Requirements


Applicants are required apply for their license on the New York State e-Licensing system.  You must have a NY.gov ID account. If you do not have an account, you should go to the MY NY.gov Online Services page to sign up for an account. 

To apply for a Barber license, you must:

  • Be 17 years old
  • Be examined by a physician, physician's assistant or nurse practitioner. The physician, physician's assistant or nurse practitioner must complete and date the Health Certification section of the application. You must submit your application within 30 days after the health certification is signed and dated.
  • Successfully complete a course of study
  • Complete a one-time course of study regarding "the transmission of contagious diseases and the proper methods of sanitation and sterilization"
  • Successfully complete the NYS practical examination within 2 years (except when applying by Reciprocity)

There are several ways to apply for a license:

  • Apprenticeship – must have worked as a NYS registered Barber Apprentice for 2 years
  • Education Outside of NYS – must submit certification of licensure; course certificate and transcript with breakdown of topics covered in course
  • NYS Education – completed barber course in a NYS approved school and pass the NYS practical examination
  • Experience – Certification from state board proving 3 years of experience in another state or country and 2 Experience Statements
  • Previous NYS Licensure – proof may be required
  • Reciprocity – Certification of Licensure from Maine, New Mexico or Pennsylvania

A barber apprentice is a person pursuing in good faith a course of study in the practice of barbering under the tutelage, supervision, and direction of a licensee and who assists such licensee in such practice.

A license to practice barbering does not allow the operation of a business. A separate Barber Shop license is needed to operate a business.

Fees

There are fees associated with you applying for your Barber license. You may pay by American Express, MasterCard or Visa. 

Barber:

  • $40 - Initial Application
  • $40 - Renewal
  • $15 - Practical Exam
  • $10 - Late Renewal Penalty
  • $0 - Change of Personal Name
  • $10 - Change of Address
  • $10 - Duplicate License/Registration Request

Practical Exam

Exam Scheduling Policy

Photo ID Policy

You MUST bring a form of government issued signature identification which must be photo-bearing. Your identification MUST BE CURRENT (not expired) and from the following list:

  1. driver's license
  2. state issued identification (ex. Non-driver ID)
  3. IDNYC Card (NYC Identification Card)
  4. military ID
  5. United States Passport
  6. Employment Authorization Card (issued by U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services) 
  7. United States INS issued ID
  8. Certificate of US citizenship 
  9. Foreign Passport 
  10. Brazilian, Mexican, Honduran, and Ecuadorian Consular ID

All appointments MUST be made in EXACTLY the name which appears on your identification. This does not include middle names or middle initials.  If your last name is hyphenated, please be sure to include your full name.  If your name does not match your ID exactly, we reserve the right to deny you access to the examination.

Cancellation Policy

If you cancel an appointment, you will forfeit the examination fee.

Reschedule Policy

If you wish to change your appointment, you MUST reschedule the appointment at least six days before your scheduled examination date.  Once you are within the six-day period, you cannot reschedule your examination.

No-Show Policy

If for any reason you do not appear on your scheduled examination date, you will forfeit the examination fee.

Lateness Policy

If you arrive at the examination site after the specified starting time, you will not be admitted into the examination and will forfeit the examination fee.

Barber Practical Examination Sites

Apply

To apply for a license, please select the below link and submit your application through the online system:

APPLY

Application Translations: (Spanish/Español) (Haitian-Creole/Kreyòl Ayisyen) (Italian/Italiano) (Korean/한국어) (Russian/Pусский) (Chinese/中文) (Bengali/বাংলা)
 

Using the online services provides a quicker turnaround time on the processing of your application. It will allow you to view your record, track the status of your application, view exams scores and complete amendment transactions through your online account.

For further information on the online system, please visit our Frequently Asked Questions: Frequently Asked Questions about the NYS License Center

Please refer to the below useful user guides to assist you with this online application process:

Barber Shop Owner/Area Renter Application

Domestic Violence Awareness Training

Other Forms

FAQs

Contact Contact the Division of Licensing Services

Have a question regarding your license? First, see if your questions are answered in the FAQs above. Otherwise, the quickest way to get in touch with us is through email: Contact us here!


Mailing Information: 
NYS Department of State Division of Licensing Services 
PO Box 22001 
Albany NY 12201-2001 

Please note: If you utilize express services or next day ground services such as UPS, Federal Express, DHL, etc. you should use the physical address of the building. 

Albany Physical Address
Division of Licensing Services 
1 Commerce Plaza 99 Washington Avenue, 6th Floor 
Albany, NY 12231

Phone Information:
General Information (518) 474-4429 
Security Guard and Armored Car Guard Information (518) 474-7569 

Call Center Representatives are available from 8:45am to 4:30pm Monday through Friday except on Legal Holidays.

Deaf, hard of hearing and speech-disabled callers, please use 7-1-1

For all other inquiries, email Licensing Services

Visitor & Customer Service Center Information:
Below is a listing of Licensing Customer Service Centers and the hours of operation. Please monitor this page for updates to office hours, guidelines and or any closures. 

Albany: This office is open for all services.
NYS Department of State Division of Licensing Services 
1 Commerce Plaza 99 Washington Avenue, 6th Floor 
Albany, NY 12231 

Customer Service hours: Monday - Friday 9:00am to 4:30pm
Apostille Service hours: Monday – Friday 9:00am to 4:15pm 

Albany Parking 
Limited on street metered parking is available for 1 Commerce Plaza in Albany. The Office of General Services has various parking lots throughout downtown Albany which have limited visitor parking. To find out more information about the OGS lots, please visit their website.   

New York City: This office is open for all services.
NYS Department of State 
Division of Licensing Services 
123 William St. 2nd Fl. New York, NY 10038-3804

Customer Service hours: Monday - Friday 9:00am to 4:30pm
Apostille Service hours: Monday – Friday 9:00am to 4:00pm  

Binghamton: Effective July 7, 2023, Licensing Customer Service Center will be closed until further notice. Licensing examinations will continue to be held as scheduled. 
NYS Department of State 
Division of Licensing Services 
State Office Building 
44 Hawley Street, Room 1506 
Binghamton, NY 13901-4455 
(518) 474-4429 

Buffalo: Effective November 10, 2022, Licensing Customer Service Center will be closed until further notice. Licensing examinations will continue to be held as scheduled 
NYS Department of State 
Division of Licensing Services 
295 Main Street, 8th Floor, Suite 821 
Buffalo, NY 14203 
(518) 474-4429

Hauppauge: Effective June 21, 2023, Licensing Customer Service Center will be closed until further notice. Licensing examinations will continue to be held as scheduled.

NYS Department of State 
Division of Licensing Services 
State Office Building 
250 Veterans Memorial Highway 
Hauppauge, NY 11788-5519 
(518) 474-4429

Utica: This office is closed until further notice. Licensing examinations will continue to be held as scheduled

NYS Department of State 
Division of Licensing Services 
State Office Building 
207 Genesee Street Utica, NY 13501-2812 
(518) 474-4429