Children's Product Safety and Recall Act

Children's Product Safety and Recall Act

Information for Consumers

The Children’s Product Safety and Recall Effectiveness Act, Article 28-E of the New York State General Business Law prohibits the sale of recalled children’s products and durable juvenile products in New York State.  Retailers are required to remove all recalled children’s products from their shelves within 24 hours of receipt of a recall or warning notice.  Also, pursuant to the law, manufacturers, distributors, and other responsible parties must provide notification to New York consumers of recalled children’s products or durable juvenile products, as well as the public, of any recalls.

Information for Businesses

New York State has set forth requirements within the children’s and durable juvenile products marketplace. The affected and defined entities included retailers, operators of websites that act as a platform to facilitate competitive bidding between third parties for the sale or resale of such products, secondhand dealers and commercial dealers which included manufacturers, remanufacturers and retrofitters, importer or wholesalers. Children’s Product Safety and Recall Act Fees and Terms of Registration for Durable Juvenile Product Manufacturers

$25 - Initial Application

$25 - Renewal Application

$25 - Change of Personal Name and/or Address

$25 - Duplicate License/Registration Request

Term of registration is two years.


Frequently Asked Questions

What are the requirements to be registered as a Durable Juvenile Products Manufacturer?

All Manufacturers of Durable Juvenile Products that are distributed, sold or made available in New York must be registered with the Department of State.

What is a Durable Juvenile Product?

“Durable Juvenile Product” means products intended for use, or that may be reasonably expected to be used, by children under the age of five (5) years including: cribs, bath seats, stationary activity centers, walkers, children’s folding chairs, infant bath tubs, toddler beds, gates/enclosures for confining a child, swings, high chairs, infant carriers, bassinets/cradles, changing tables, infant slings, booster seats/hook on chairs, play yards, strollers, bed rails, infant bouncers.

What forms of payment does the Department of State accept?

You may pay by check or money order made payable to the Department of State or by MasterCard or Visa using a credit card authorization form. Do not send cash. Application fees are nonrefundable. A $20 fee will be charged for any check returned by your bank.

What must I submit with my application and fee?

A description of the types and variety of durable juvenile products sold or offered in the State must accompany your application. Please see page 2 of the Durable Juvenile Product Manufacturer application.

What if I have a change of information?

If any information provided during the license period has changed, a Change Notice must be filed with the Department within 30 days of the occurrence of such change.


License Law

It is the responsibility of members of the industry to understand the Children’s Product Safety and Recall Effectiveness Law.