The procedures for variances and appeals regarding the New York State Uniform Fire Prevention and Building Code (Uniform Code) are established in 19 NYCRR Part 1205. Requests for a variance generally require a hearing before a Board of Review. Some requests for a variance can be resolved through an administrative process when DOS staff determines it is appropriate. Appeals always require a hearing before a Board of Review. For additional information or to begin a variance or appeal process, contact your Regional office. Mailing an application directly to our central office without first involving a regional office will result in a delay.

Board Meetings

Search the dates, times, and locations of upcoming Regional Boards of Review hearings.


Start the Process

Contact the appropriate regional office listed below to begin the variance or appeal process. Applications that are submitted to the incorrect regional office may result in a delay.


Western NY/Rochester & Finger Lakes, Southern Tier (W) Counties

Buffalo Office

State Office Building

65 Court Street Room 208

Buffalo, NY 14202-3471

Andy Hvisdak - (716) 847-7612

Allegany County        

Cattaraugus County        

Chautauqua County        

Chemung County        

Erie County        

Genesee County        

Livingston County        

Niagara County        

Ontario County        

Orleans County        

Schuyler County        

Seneca County        

Steuben County        

Wayne County        

Wyoming County        

Yates County        

Central NY, Mohawk Valley, Southern Tier (E), North Country (W) Counties

Syracuse Office

Hughes State Office Building

333 East Washington Street Room 514

Syracuse, NY 13202-1428

Thomas DiTullio - (315) 428-4434

Broome County        

Cayuga County        

Chenango County        

Cortland County        

Delaware County        

Herkimer County        

Jefferson County        

Lewis County        

Madison County        

Oneida County        

Onondaga County        

Oswego County        

Otsego County        

St. Lawrence County        

Tioga County        

Tompkins County        

Capital Region & North Country (E) Counties

Capital Office

One Commerce Plaza

99 Washington Avenue

Albany, NY 12231

Dan Farrelly - (585) 322-6386

Albany County        

Clinton County        

Essex County        

Franklin County        

Fulton County        

Hamilton County        

Monroe County        

Montgomery County        

Rensselaer County        

Saratoga County        

Schenectady County        

Schoharie County        

Warren County        

Washington County        

Hudson Valley/Catskills Counties

One Commerce Plaza

99 Washington Avenue

Albany, NY 12231

Neil Collier - (518) 473-8947

Columbia County        

Dutchess County        

Greene County        

Orange County        

Putnam County        

Rockland County        

Sullivan County        

Ulster County        

Westchester County        

Suffolk County

Long Island Office

Perry B Duryea Jr. State Office Building

250 Veterans Memorial Highway - 2A15

Hauppauge, NY 11788-5520

Rick Smith - (631) 952-4912

Suffolk County (excluding the Towns of Huntington and Babylon)

Nassau County, Towns of Huntington & Babylon

Long Island Office

Perry B Duryea Jr. State Office Building

250 Veterans Memorial Highway - 2A15

Hauppauge, NY 11788-5520

Courtney Nation - (631) 952-4915

Nassau County (plus the Towns of Huntington and Babylon)

City of New York        

Please call the City Department of Buildings -  (212) 566-5000

Bronx County        

Kings County        

New York County        

Queens County        

Richmond County

Contact Assistant Director for Variances

Erika Krieger, RA, Assistant Director for Variances

Contact us by phone: