Esthetics
SHARE

Overview

An esthetics license allows you to provide appearance enhancement services to the face, neck, arms, legs or shoulders for a fee, or any consideration or exchange, whether direct or indirect. With this license these services you can use compounds or procedures including makeup, eyelashes, depilatories, tonics, lotions, waxes or sanding and tweezing.

These may be performed manually, mechanically, chemically, or with electrical means and instruments. Electrology is not included.

Any person practicing Esthetics is required by law to have an Esthetics license. An Esthetics license will not permit you to operate a business; a separate business application must be completed and a separate business license obtained.

Licenses are valid for four years.

laws, rules and regulations 

Requirements

Applicants are required apply for their license on the New York State e-Licensing system.  You must have a NY.gov ID account. If you do not have an account, you should go to the MY NY.gov Online Services page to sign up for an account. 

To apply for an esthetics license you must:

  • Be 17 years old
  • Complete a 600 hour approved course of study and pass both the New York State written and practical examinations. The affirmation of New York State Approved Schooling section of the application must be completed by your school director as proof of successful completion.
  • Be examined by a physician, physician's assistant or nurse practitioner. The physician, physician's assistant or nurse practitioner must complete and date the Health Certification section of the application. You must submit your application within 30 days after the health certification is signed and dated.


 

There are several ways to apply for a license:

  1. New York State Education and Examinations (eligible for temporary license)

You must complete a 600-hour approved course of study and pass both the New York State written and practical examinations to get a license to operate in New York state. As proof of successful completion of schooling the Affirmation of New York State Approved Schooling section of the esthetics application must be completed by your school director.

Effective June 17, 2020, all operator applicants qualifying based  on the completion of NYS education must complete a 1- hour course on Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault Awareness. Visit this page to complete the course before submitting your application.

After your application is reviewed and accepted, you will receive information that explains the exam process in detail.

  1. Education Outside of New York State (eligible for temporary license)

    The Department of State may waive the New York State schooling requirement if you can document an equivalent level of schooling from another state or country. You must submit all three of the following documents:

    (1) a school certificate;
    (2) a school transcript listing subjects and hours completed; AND
    (3) a current, original Certification of Licensure from your state board or, if not licensed, a current Certification from your state's board verifying the hours claimed.

    After your application is reviewed and accepted, you will also be required to pass both the New York State written and practical examinations to obtain an Esthetics license in this state. You will receive information that explains the exam process in detail.
     
  2. Experience: 5 Years Outside of New York State

Any individual having five years of legal experience in an occupation equivalent to Esthetics may apply for a New York State license by submitting satisfactory evidence of education and experience.

Within the United States experience:

       1) An original certification from the licensing agency you were previously licensed with. 

       2) Two experience statements filled out by former employers, co-workers, clients, that can claim your experience in the state for at least five years.  These experience statements must include EXACT dates (month and year of start of service and month and year of end of service), location(City, State, shop name), and specific services that you performed.             

       3) Copy of tax returns which indicate Esthetics as occupation


Outside of the United States experience:
Evidence may include but is not limited to:

       1) Official certification from the licensing authority in your country or verification from the Consulate that a license is not required to practice this occupation in your country.

       2) Detailed letters from employer(s) in your country specifying EXACT dates of employment, location and specific services that you performed.

       3) Detailed letters from your client(s), or coworker(s), in your country specifying EXACT dates of service, location and specific services you performed.

       4) Copy of passport which indicates Esthetics as occupation, drivers license, workbook with Esthetics experience, or any photo identification.

       5) Copies of course curricula and diplomas/certificates for education completed in your country.

       6) Copy of tax returns which indicate Esthetics as occupation.

After your application is reviewed and accepted, you may obtain a Esthetics license in New York State without examination or further education.

 

  1. Endorsement An applicant who holds an Esthetics license in another jurisdiction may obtain an Esthetics license in New York through endorsement without examination or further education. Refer to our website for an Esthetics endorsement list to determine if you qualify for licensure based on endorsement. An applicant must submit an original certification from the jurisdiction where s/he holds an equivalent license.
  2. Previous New York State Licensure An individual who fails to file an application and fee for renewal within five years of the expiration date cited on the individual’s license shall be ineligible for such license until he/she passes a written exam. Proof of previous licensure may be required.

Fees

There are fees associated with you applying for your esthetic license. You can pay these fees You may pay by check or money order made payable to the Department of State or by American Express, MasterCard or Visa using a credit card authorization form.

  • $40 initial application fee
  • $40 renewal fee
  • $15 written exam fee
  • $15 practical exam fee
  • $10 six month temporary license
  • $10 six month temporary license renewal
  • $10 late renewal penalty
  • $10 change of address
  • $10 duplicate license/registration request

If you are applying for an initial application and a temporary license, you may combine the fees and remit one $50 application fee.

 

 

 

 

Written Exam

Appearance Enhancement Written Examination Procedures

Applicants are required to schedule their appearance enhancement examinations on the New York State e-Licensing system. In order to schedule your examination, you must have a NY.gov ID account. If you do not have an account, you should go to the MY NY.gov Online Services page to sign up for an account. 

Persons with disabilities who require accessibility information should call 518-474-4429.


Written Exam Candidate COVID-19 Mandatory Checklist

What To Bring 

1. A form of government issued signature identification which must be photo-bearing. Your identification MUST BE CURRENT (not expired) and from the following list:

  • driver's license
  • state issued identification (ex. non-driver ID)
  • IDNYC Card (NYC Identification Card)
  • military ID
  • United States Passport
  • Employment Authorization Card (issued by U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services)
  • United States INS issued ID
  • Certificate of US citizenship
  • Foreign Passport
  • Brazilian, Mexican, Honduran, and Ecuadorian Consular ID

2. A copy of your examination confirmation, which should include all of your examination information, including your candidate number.

Examination Site Policies

Cellular phones, beepers and any other electronic devices MUST be turned off during the exam.

Dictionaries, books, other reference materials, large bags and briefcases are not allowed at the exam site. Do not bring these materials to the exam site as there is no place to store them.

Eating, drinking or smoking is not permitted at the exam site. If you bring food or beverages, you will be asked to dispose of them before entering the exam site.

Visitors, guests and children are not permitted at the exam site.

Firearms are not allowed at the exam site. Please contact our exam unit at (518) 473-2731 for questions pertaining to this policy.

Any person found using notes, books, or other aids; giving or receiving help; removing examination materials or notes from the exam site; causing a disturbance or engaging in practices contrary to the rules of proper examination conduct will be dismissed from the exam site. Any decisions regarding disciplinary measures will be made by the Exam Supervisor at the Department of State.

 

Score Reporting

  • Examination results are reported as either passed or failed; you will not receive a numerical score. Passed examination results are only valid for a period of five years. Results will not be given over the phone, so please do not call Licensing Services for them. 
  • You will be notified by email once the examination results are available for viewing. 
  • Examination results will be available online by utilizing MY NY.gov Online Services
  • If you fail the exam, you can schedule another examination by utilizing MY NY.gov Online Services

About the Exam

  • The written exam is multiple-choice and based on the pre-licensing curriculum.
  • Applicants will be allowed 2 1/2 hours to complete the test. The allotted time begins at the conclusion of the instructions. 

Examination Sites and Addresses

Practical Exam

Practical Exam Locations
 

Exam Scheduling Policy

Practical Exam Candidate COVID-19 Checklist

Practical Exam Supply List (Esthetics)

Photo ID Policy

You MUST bring a form of government issued signature identification which must be photo-bearing. Your identification MUST BE CURRENT (not expired) and from the following list:

  • driver's license
  • state issued identification (ex. Non-driver ID)
  • IDNYC Card (NYC Identification Card)
  • military ID
  • United States Passport
  • Employment Authorization Card (issued by U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services) 
  • United States INS issued ID
  • Certificate of US citizenship 
  • Foreign Passport 
  • Brazilian, Mexican, Honduran, and Ecuadorian Consular ID

All appointments MUST be made in EXACTLY the name which appears on your identification. This does not include middle names or middle initials.  If your last name is hyphenated, please be sure to include your full name.  If your name does not match your ID exactly, we reserve the right to deny you access to the examination.

Cancellation Policy

If you cancel an appointment, you will forfeit the examination fee.

Reschedule Policy

If you wish to change your appointment, you MUST reschedule the appointment at least six days before your scheduled examination date.  Once you are within the six-day period, you cannot reschedule your examination.

No-Show Policy

If for any reason you do not appear on your scheduled examination date, you will forfeit the examination fee.

Lateness Policy

If you arrive at the examination site after the specified starting time, you will not be admitted into the examination and will forfeit the examination fee.

Esthetics General Practical Exam Information

Esthetics Practical Examination Procedures

The following is a description of the examination procedures you will be asked to perform.

Practical Examination Supply List

List of Tasks Evaluated

Update or Renew

Renew Your License

An esthetic license is good for four years. Your license expiration date is printed on the license.

You are eligible to renew your license three months prior to the expiration date, all renewals must be done online.

Update Your License

You are able to update your existing license through an online account. Updates include:

  • duplicate license requests
  • name change
  • address change
  • contact change (social security number, date of birth, email address, phone number)

Visit the License Center to log in.
 

  • Renew Your License Instruction File here
  • Renewal Guide File here
  • Amendments Guide File Here
  • Claiming Records File Here

 

NYS Licensing Center Renewal Guide

License Center Amendments Guide

NY Licensing Center Claiming Record(s) Guide

Apply

Esthetics Application

To apply for a license, please select the below link and submit your application through the online system:

https://aca.licensecenter.ny.gov/aca/

Using the online services provides a quicker turnaround time on the processing of your application. It will allow you to view your record, track the status of your application, view exams scores and complete amendment transactions through your online account.

Please refer to the below useful user guides to assist you with this online application process:

Quick Online Application Instruction Flyer (pdf)

Applicant User Guide for the License Center (doc)

For further information on the online system, please visit our Frequently Asked Questions: Frequently Asked Questions about the NYS License Center

Appearance Enhancement Business/Area Renter Application

Appearance Enhancement Temporary License Renewal Application

Experience Statement

Military Spouse Waiver Application

The Department of State will grant a license to an applicant who is a member of the household of a member of the armed forces of the United States, National Guard or Reserves and who meet the qualifications.

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the requirements to obtain a license for Esthetics?

If you are at least 17 years old, you may apply for an Esthetics license based on:

 

  1.  New York State Education and Examinations (eligible for temporary license)

You must complete a 600-hour approved course of study and pass both the New York State written and practical examinations to get a license to operate in New York state. As proof of successful completion of schooling the Affirmation of New York State Approved Schooling section of the esthetics application must be completed by your school director.

Effective June 17, 2020, all operator applicants qualifying based  on the completion of NYS education must complete a 1- hour course on Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault Awareness. Visit https://www.dos.ny.gov/licensing/domesticviolencetraining.html to complete the course before submitting your application.

After your application is reviewed and accepted, you will receive information that explains the exam process in detail.
 

  1. Education Outside of New York State (eligible for temporary license) The Department of State may waive the New York State schooling requirement if you can document an equivalent level of schooling from another state or country. You must submit all three of the following documents:
    1. a school certificate;
    2. a school transcript listing subjects and hours completed;
      AND
    3. a current, original Certification of Licensure from your state board or, if not licensed, a current Certification from your state's board verifying the hours claimed.

      After your application is reviewed and accepted, you will also be required to pass both the New York State written and practical examinations to obtain an Esthetics license in this state. You will receive information that explains the exam process in detail.
  2. Experience: 5 Years Outside of New York State
    Any individual having five years of legal experience in an occupation equivalent to Esthetics may apply for a New York State license by submitting satisfactory evidence of education and experience.

    Within the United States experience:
    1. An original certification from the licensing agency you were previously licensed with. 
    2. Two experience statements filled out by former employers, co-workers, clients, that can claim your experience in the state for at least five years.  These experience statements must include EXACT  dates (month and year of start of service and month and year of end of service), location(City, State, shop name), and specific services that you performed.             
    3. Copy of tax returns which indicate Esthetics as occupation

      Outside of the United States experience:
      Evidence may include but is not limited to:

1) Official certification from the licensing authority in your country or verification from the Consulate that a license is not required to practice this occupation in your country.

2) Detailed letters from employer(s) in your country specifying EXACT dates of employment, location and specific services that you performed.

3) Detailed letters from your client(s), or coworker(s), in your country specifying EXACT dates of service, location and specific services you performed.

4) Copy of passport which indicates Esthetics as occupation, drivers license, workbook with Esthetics experience, or any photo identification.

5) Copies of course curricula and diplomas/certificates for education completed in your country.

6) Copy of tax returns which indicate Esthetics as occupation.

After your application is reviewed and accepted, you may obtain a Esthetics license in New York State without examination or further education.


(4) Endorsement An applicant who holds an Esthetics license in another jurisdiction may obtain an Esthetics license in New York through endorsement without examination or further education. Refer to our website http://www.dos.ny.gov/licensing/endorsment.html#esthetics for an Esthetics endorsement list to determine if you qualify for licensure based on endorsement. An applicant must submit an original certification from the jurisdiction where s/he holds an equivalent license.

(5) Previous New York State Licensure An individual who fails to file an application and fee for renewal within five years of the expiration date cited on the individual’s license shall be ineligible for such license until he/she passes a written exam. Proof of previous licensure may be required.
 

What are the fees, terms of licensure?


What forms of payment does the Department of State accept?

You may pay by check or money order made payable to the Department of State or by American Express, MasterCard or Visa using a credit card authorization form. DO NOT SEND CASH. Application fees are nonrefundable. A $20 fee will be charged for any check returned by your bank.

What does the practice of Esthetics cover?

The practice of Esthetics means providing services for a fee or any other consideration to enhance the appearance of the face, neck, arms, legs, or shoulders of a human being by the use of compounds or procedures including makeup, eyelashes, depilatories, tonics, lotions, waxes, or sanding and tweezing. They may be performed by manual, mechanical, chemical or electrical means and instruments, but shall not include the practice of electrology.

Who must apply for an Esthetics license?

Any person practicing Esthetics is required by law to have an Esthetics license. An Esthetics license will not permit you to operate a business; a separate business application must be completed and a separate business license obtained.

Do I need a physical to be licensed?

Yes. You need to be examined by a physician, physician's assistant or nurse practitioner to apply for a license in Esthetics. The physician, physician's assistant or nurse practitioner must complete and date the Health Certification section of the application. You must submit your application within 30 days after the health certification is signed and dated.

Is there reciprocity?

No.  However we do hold endorsement agreements with other states.  Please click here to obtain the current list of endorsement agreements held with other states.

Contact Contact the Division of Licensing Services

Mailing Information:

NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
PO Box 22001
Albany NY 12201-2001


Please note: If you utilize express services or next day ground services such as UPS, Federal Express, DHL, etc. you should use the physical address of the building.

Albany Physical Address
Division of Licensing Services
1 Commerce Plaza
99 Washington Avenue, 6th Floor
Albany, NY 12231

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Phone Information:

General Information (518) 474-4429
Security Guard and Armored Car Guard Information (518) 474-7569
 

Call Center Representatives are available from 8:45am to 4:30pm Monday through Friday except on Legal Holidays.

Deaf, hard of hearing and speech-disabled callers, please use 7-1-1

For all other inquiries, email Licensing Services

 

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Visitor & Customer Service Center Information:

Below is a listing of Licensing Customer Service Centers and the hours of operation. All Customer Service Centers are following COVID-19 guidelines and all visitors are asked to abide by these guidelines. Please monitor this page for updates to office hours, guidelines and or any closures.

Albany: This office is open for all services. All visitors are asked to follow COVID guidelines.

NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
1 Commerce Plaza
99 Washington Avenue, 6th Floor
Albany, NY 12231
 

Customer Service hours: Monday - Friday 9:00 am - 4:30 pm

*Important note about Apostille and Certification of Authentication Services: Apostille and Certification of Authentication documents may be dropped off for processing. Customers may provide prepaid envelopes for priority returns. Priority appointments based on travel plans within two weeks may be scheduled at our Albany or New York City customer service office. For further information, please visit https://dos.ny.gov/apostille-or-certificate-authentication

Parking
Limited on street metered parking is available for 1 Commerce Plaza in Albany. The Office of General Services has various parking lots throughout downtown Albany which have limited visitor parking. To find out more information about the OGS lots, please visit their website.  

New York City: This office is ONLY open to accept Apostille and Certification of Authentication documents and for priority Apostille appointments. The office will remain temporarily closed for all other services. All visitors are asked to follow COVID guidelines.

NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
123 William St. 2nd Fl.
New York, NY 10038-3804

Customer Service hours: Monday - Friday 9:00am to 3:30pm

*Important note about Apostille and Certification of Authentication Services: Apostille and Certification of Authentication documents may be dropped off for processing. Customers may provide prepaid envelopes for priority returns.Priority appointments based on travel plans within two weeks may be scheduled at our Albany or New York City customer service office. For further information, please visit https://dos.ny.gov/apostille-or-certificate-authentication

 

Binghamton: This office is open for all services. All visitors are asked to follow COVID guidelines.

NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
State Office Building 44 Hawley Street, Room 1506
Binghamton, NY 13901-4455
(518) 474-4429

Customer Service hours: Tuesday and Thursday -  9:00am to 3:00pm

 

Buffalo: This office is open for all services. All visitors are asked to follow COVID guidelines.


NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
295 Main Street, 8th Floor, Suite 821
Buffalo, NY 14203
(518) 474-4429



Customer Service hours: Wednesday and Friday -  9:00am to 3:00pm

 

Hauppauge: This office is open for all services. All visitors are asked to follow COVID guidelines.

NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
State Office Building
250 Veterans Memorial Highway
Hauppauge, NY 11788-5519
(518) 474-4429

Customer Service hours: Tuesday and Thursday -  9:00am to 3:00pm

Utica: This office is closed until further notice.

NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
State Office Building
207 Genesee Street
Utica, NY 13501-2812
(518) 474-4429