Home Inspector
SHARE

Contact Executive Order - Extending Expiration Date of License

Executive Order – Extending expiration date of license

Effective March 27, 2020, pursuant to Executive Order 202.11, any license issued by the Division of Licensing Services or New York State Athletic Commission, that expires after that date, shall remain in effect until July 5, 2021. Further, the Appraisal Subcommittee of the Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council, has advised that appraisers within New York have been granted a 90-day deferment for meeting continuing education requirements. Any license holder that is eligible to renew and does not need the extension is encouraged to do so; all other license holders may rely on the above extensions. IF YOU ARE HAVING DIFFICULTY FINDING AN AVAILABLE CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE, PLEASE CONTACT THE DEPARTMENT AT (518) 474-4429. ALL REQUIRED CONTINUING EDUCATION MUST BE COMPLETED ON OR BEFORE July 5, 2021.

Please note licensees who submit a renewal after the expiration date printed on their license but by July 5, 2021 will see a change in their license term dates upon renewal, however, our office will maintain a record of the EO extension and your license will considered continuous licensure for this period.

Overview

Home Inspection is defined as the process by which a home inspector observes and provides a written report of the systems and components of a residential building including but not limited to:

  • Heating System
  • Cooling System
  • Plumbing System
  • Electrical System
  • Structural Components - foundation, roof masonry structure, exterior and interior components or any other related residential building component recommended by the Home Inspection Council and implemented by the Department of State through the regulatory process.

It is the responsibility of licensees to understand the Home Inspection Professional License Law.

Term of licensure is two years

laws, rules and regulations

Requirements

  • Submit a completed application and the required fee to the Department of State.

You can apply based on any of the following categories:

  • Have successfully completed high school or its equivalent;
  • Education: Taken and successfully completed a course of study of not less than 140 hours approved by the Department. Of those hours, 40 must be unpaid field based inspections in the presence of and under direct supervision of a Home Inspector licensed by NYS, or a professional engineer or architect, regulated by NYS,

or

  • Have performed not less than 100 home inspections (paid or unpaid) in the presence of and under the direct supervision of a Home Inspector licensed by NYS, or a professional engineer or architect regulated by NYS,

and

Successful Completion of an Exam: Have passed the NYS written examination or have taken and passed an existing nationally recognized examination, deemed equivalent, prior to December 31, 2005.

  • Freedom from Disqualifying Criminal Convictions
  • Secure, maintain, and file proof of a certificate of liability coverage with the Department of State, which shall be a minimum amount of $150,000 per occurrence and $500,000 aggregate.

Course Providers

Course Providers offer the qualifying and continuing education courses for Home Inspectors.

Home Inspection courses and offerings may be given by any college or university accredited by the Commissioner of Education of the State of New York or by a regional accrediting agency accepted by said Commissioner of Education; public and private schools; and home inspection related professional societies and organizations.

Approved Schools and Education Information:

Home inspectors are required to complete 24 hours of approved continuing education within their two-year license renewal period prior to the expiration date in order to renew their license.

Home Inspection Qualifying Schools Applications:

Home Inspection Continuing Education Schools Applications:

Fees

There are fees associated a Home Inspector license. You may pay these fees by check or money order made payable to the Department of State or by MasterCard or Visa using a credit card authorization form. DO NOT SEND CASH. Application fees are nonrefundable. A $20 fee will be charged for any check returned by your bank.

  • $250 - Initial Application
  • $50 - Written Exam
  • $100 - Renewal
  • $25 - Change of Personal Name and/or Address (No fee is required if a name change is the result of a change in marital status)
  • $25.00 - Duplicate License/Registration Request

Written Exam

Renew or Update

Renew Your License

You are eligible to renew your license 90 days prior to your license expiration date. Your license expiration date is printed on the license.

Renewal forms are mailed approximately 90 days prior to the license expiration date. Complete and submit the renewal form to the address on the form.

If you are eligible to renew your license and you have not received a renewal form, email the Division of Licensing Services and request a form. Your email must include your full name, mailing address, license type, unique identification number and expiration date of your license.

Update Your License

To update your personal name, business or residence address, download, complete and submit the Change Notice to the address on the form.

To request a duplicate license certificate, download, complete and submit the Duplicate License/Registration Request to the address on the form.

Change Notice

Duplicate License/Registration Request

Apply

To apply for a Home Inspector license, submit a completed application to the NYS Department of State, Division of Licensing Services.

Home Inspector Application

Special Testing Arrangements Request

Credit Card Authorization Form

Licensee Search

Searches are limited to active licenses only. 

Search by ID Number (Unique ID or Registration Number)

Search by Name (last name, first name and optionally city/zip code/county)

Search by Business Name (business name and optionally city/zip code/county)

Every effort has been made to ensure that the information contained on this site is up to date and accurate. As the Department relies upon information provided to it, the information's completeness or accuracy cannot be guaranteed.

Please note that information pertaining to residence addresses is not included on this database. Such information is protected by privacy law.

FAQs

Who must apply for a license?

Persons engaged in performing home inspections of residential buildings for compensation.

What do you mean by residential buildings?

A Residential Building means a structure consisting of 1 to 4 dwelling units and their garages and carports, but shall not include any such structure newly constructed or not previously occupied as a dwelling unit

Who is excluded from licensure?

  1. A person regulated by the state or a political subdivision thereof as an architect who is acting within the scope of his or her profession; or
  2. A person regulated by the state or a political subdivision thereof as an engineer who is acting within the scope of his or her profession; or
  3. A person who is employed as a code enforcement official by the state or a political subdivision thereof when acting within the scope of that government employment; or
  4. A person making home inspections for the purpose of meeting the requirements of § 444-e (b)(i)&(ii) of this article to qualify for licensure as a home inspector. That is home inspections performed in the presence of and under the direct supervision of a licensed home inspector, registered architect or licensed professional engineer, who oversees and takes full responsibility for the inspection and inspection report. The sole purpose of these inspections is to gain the experience necessary to qualify for a license as a home inspector

Can one obtain a Home Inspector's license based on licensure in another state?

Yes. Upon submission of an application and fee, we will review application requests from individuals submitting proof of current licensure from another state where requirements are equivalent to NYS. Where found equivalent, education and exam requirements will be waived, and a license issued.

Are there any continuing education requirements?

Yes. Home Inspectors are required to complete 24 hours of approved continuing education within their two-year license renewal period prior to the expiration date in order to renew their license.

In New York State, who can provide home inspection of residential buildings for compensation?

Person holding a license issued by the NYS Department of State (DOS) can perform home inspections of residential buildings for compensation. Exempt from this licensure requirement are architects and professional engineers licensed and currently registered by the NYS Office of Professions who are lawfully practicing within the scope of their profession. For more information on the Home Inspection Professional Licensing Act, visit the Department of Education’s website at http://www.op.nysed.gov/pefaq.htm

When may a Professional Engineer provide home inspection services under the exemption in “The Home Inspection Professional Licensing Act”?
In accordance with Article 12-B “The Home Inspection Professional Licensing Act” a professional engineer may provide home inspection services under the exemption when:

  • • They are providing these services as part of their practice as a professional engineer. The professional engineer’s business entity must have a Certificate of Authorization to provide engineering services issued by the New York State Education Department or, if a sole proprietor licensed as professional engineer, they must qualify for such a Certificate. For information regarding the entities that may legally provide engineering services and how to obtain a Certificate of Authorization, visit the Department of Education’s website

A Professional Engineer may not provide home inspection services under the exemption if they are an owner, employee or subcontractor of a general business corporation or “inc.” Under this scenario they would need to obtain a home inspection license.

Note: There are a finite group of general business corporations that were in existence and providing professional engineering services on April 15, 1935, and continuously thereafter, and were lawfully engaged in the practice of professional services in New York State. (These corporations are often referred to as "grandfathered" corporations and hold a Certificate of Authorization to practice engineering). Such corporations may lawfully provide professional services within the state and may not need to obtain a license to perform home inspection if such inspection is performed within the scope of practice of engineering.

Contact

Mailing Information:

Albany Mailing Address
NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
P.O. Box 22001
Albany, NY 12201-2001

To ensure prompt delivery of your mail, it is important that you utilize the above mailing address.

Please note: If you utilize express services or next day ground services such as UPS, Federal Express, DHL, etc. you should use the physical address of the building.
The physical address of the Albany location is:

Albany Physical Address
Division of Licensing Services
1 Commerce Plaza
99 Washington Avenue, 6th Floor
Albany, NY 12231


Phone Information:

General Information (518) 474-4429
Security Guard and Armored Car Guard Information (518) 474-7569

Call Center Representatives are available from 8:30am to 4:30pm Monday through Friday except on Legal Holidays.

Deaf, hard of hearing and speech-disabled callers, please use 7-1-1

For all other inquiries, email Licensing Services


Visitor Information:

Please monitor this page for updates to office closures.

Out of an abundance of caution and in line with recent guidance issued by the Center for Disease Control and New York State, In Person Customer Services Centers are currently closed due to COVID-19. All customers should call (518) 474-4429. Call Center Representatives are available from 8:45am to 4:30pm Monday through Friday except on Legal Holidays.
 

Parking
Limited on street metered parking is available for 1 Commerce Plaza in Albany. The Office of General Services has various parking lots throughout downtown Albany which have limited visitor parking. To find out more information about the OGS lots, please visit their website.  

Albany: This office is closed until further notice
NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
1 Commerce Plaza
99 Washington Avenue, 6th Floor
Albany, NY 12231
(Customer Service hours 9:00am - 4:30pm)

New York City: This office is closed until further notice
NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
123 William St. 2nd Fl.
New York, NY 10038-3804
(Licensing Services customer service hours 9:00am to 4:30pm)
(Apostille/Certification of Authentication customer service hours 9:00am to 3:30pm)

Binghamton: This office is closed until further notice
NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
State Office Building 44 Hawley Street, Room 1506
Binghamton, NY 13901-4455
(518) 474-4429 (customer service hours 9:00am to 3:00pm)

Buffalo: This office is closed until further notice
NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
65 Court Street, Room 208
Buffalo, NY 14202-3471
(518) 474-4429 (customer service hours 9:00am - 3:00pm)

Hauppauge: This office is closed until further notice
NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
State Office Building
250 Veterans Memorial Highway
Hauppauge, NY 11788-5519
(518) 474-4429 (customer service hours 9:00am to 3:00pm)

Utica: This office is closed until further notice
NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
State Office Building
207 Genesee Street
Utica, NY 13501-2812
(518) 474-4429 (customer service hours 9:00am to 3:00pm)