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New York State 
Department of State 

Division of Licensing Services 
P.O. Box 22001             

Albany, NY 12201-2001 
Customer Service: (518) 474-4429 

      https://dos.ny.gov 
  

Home Inspector License Application
Read the instructions carefully before completing the 
application. Incomplete applications will be returned, delaying 
licensure. Any omission, inaccuracy or failure to make full 
disclosure in an application or supporting documentation may 
be deemed sufficient reason to deny a license, or, if a license 
is issued could result in the suspension or revocation of a 
license. 

What is a Home Inspector? 
New York State law Article 12-B §444-B(4) of the Real Property 
Law defines a Home Inspector as any person licensed to do home 
inspections. 

What are Home Inspections? 
New York State law Article 12-B §444-B(5) of the Real Property 
Law defines a home inspection as the process by which a home 
inspector observes and provides a written report of the systems and 
components of a residential building including but not limited to: 

A.  Heating System 
B.  Cooling System 
C.  Plumbing System 
D.  Electrical System 
E.  Structural Components - foundation, roof masonry structure, 

exterior and interior components or any other related 
residential building component recommended by the Home 
Inspection Council and implemented by the Department 
through the regulatory process. 

Who is excluded from this law? 
Explicitly excluded are Architects, Professional Engineers, and 
Certified Code Enforcement Officers. Whether new to the field or 
existing, they can continue engaging in home inspections without 
need of this license provided they are working within the scope of 
their profession. However, if they open a home inspection business 
they will be required to obtain a license. 

What qualifications does a Licensed Architect or a 
Professional Engineer opening his/her own home 
inspection business need to meet? 
An individual who is a Licensed Architect or a Professional Engineer 
will need to provide proof of their professional license along with the 
completed application and fee. They will be exempt from the course 
work, examination requirements and the continuing education 
requirements as set forth in statute for a home inspector license. 

Is there a liability insurance requirement?  
Yes, §444-K(1) of The Home Inspection Professional Licensing Act 
requires that every licensed home inspector who is engaged in home 
inspection shall secure and maintain general liability coverage which  

shall be a minimum amount of $150,000 per occurrence and 
$500,000 aggregate.  
Pursuant to §197-1.1 proof of liability coverage shall include the 
following information: Name of insured (the applicant’s name only if 
applying as an individual or the applicant’s and AND the business 
name if applying as a business entity); Name of insurance company, 
Business address and telephone number of insurance company; 
Policy number; Policy expiration date and the Secretary of State as 
certificate holder. 
Proof of liability coverage must be available for review upon request.  

Can one obtain a Home Inspector’s License based 
on licensure in another state? 
Yes, if NYS has entered into a reciprocity agreement with another 
state. Upon submission of an application and fee, we will review 
application requests from individuals submitting proof of current 
licensure from another state where requirements are equivalent to 
NYS. Where found equivalent, education and exam requirements 
will be waived, and a license issued. 

What are the fees, terms of licensure? 
Application Fee: Each application must be accompanied by a 
nonrefundable application fee of $250; the license will be effective 
for 2 years. 
Renewal Fee: The renewal fee is $100 for a two year term. 

What qualifications and supporting documents do I 
need to apply for licensure? 
You can apply based on the following: 

a.  Have successfully completed high school or its equivalent; 
b.  Education: Taken and successfully completed a course of study 

of not less than 140 hours approved by the Department. Of 
those hours, 40 must be unpaid field based inspections in the 
presence of and under direct supervision of a Home Inspector 
licensed by NYS, or a professional engineer or architect, 
regulated by NYS. 

OR 

Experience: Have performed not less than 100 home 
inspections (paid or unpaid) in the presence of and under the  
direct supervision of a Home Inspector licensed by NYS, or a 
professional engineer or architect regulated by NYS; 

   c.  Successful Completion of an Exam: Have passed the NYS 
Home Inspector Licensing Examination or the  National 

         Home Inspector Examination;  
   d.  Freedom from Disqualifying Criminal Convictions; 
   e.  Application Fee: Each application must be accompanied by a      
        nonrefundable application fee of $250; the license will be       
        effective for 2 years. 
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 Home Inspector License Application 
 
What forms of payment do you accept? 
You may pay by check or money order made payable to the 
Department of State or charge any fee to MasterCard or Visa, using  a 
credit card authorization form. Do not send cash. Application fees 
are nonrefundable. A $20 fee will be charged for any check returned 
by your bank. (Applicants should understand that if the 
application filing fee is paid with a personal check, and the check 
is returned by the bank due to insufficient funds, the next step in 
the licensure process will be delayed until the fee [includes $20 
returned check charge] is paid.) 

What is the renewal fee and how does one renew 
their license? 
The renewal application is mailed to the Home Inspector 
approximately 3 months prior to the expiration of his or her license. 
The application must be completed and submitted with a $100 fee to 
the Department of State, Division of Licensing Services. Instructions 
for proper submission will be included with the renewal application. 
The term of licensure is 2 years. 

Are there any continuing education requirements? 
Yes. Home inspectors are required to complete 24 hours of approved 
continuing education within their two-year license renewal period 
prior to the expiration date in order to renew their license. 

Child Support Statement 
A Child Support Statement is mandatory in New York State (General 
Obligations Law) regardless of whether or not you have children or 
any support obligation. Any person who is four months or more in 
arrears in child support may be subject to having his or her 
business, professional and driver’s licenses suspended.  The 
intentional submission of a false written statement for the purpose of 
frustrating or defeating the lawful enforcement of support obligation 
is punishable under §175.35 of the Penal Law.  It is a class E felony 
to offer a false instrument for filing with state or local government 
with the intent to defraud. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

PRIVACY NOTIFICATION 
Do I need to provide my Social Security and Federal ID 
numbers on the application? 
Yes, if you have a social security number or Federal ID number, you 
are required to provide this number.  If you do not have a social 
security number or Federal ID number, please provide a written 
explanation. 
The Department of State is required to collect the federal Social 
Security and Employer Identification numbers of all licensees.  The 
authority to request and maintain such personal information is found 
in §5 of the Tax Law and §3-503 of the General Obligations Law.  
Disclosure by you is mandatory.  The information is collected to 
enable the Department of Taxation and Finance to identify 
individuals, businesses and others who have been delinquent in filing 
tax returns or may have underestimated their tax liabilities and to 
generally identify persons affected by the taxes administered by the 
Commissioner of Taxation and Finance.  It will be used for tax 
administration purposes and any other purpose authorized by the Tax 
Law and may also be used by child support enforcement agencies or 
their authorized representatives of this or other states established 
pursuant to Title IV-D of the Social Security Act, to establish, modify 
or enforce an order of support, but will not be available to the public.  
A written explation is required where no number is provided.  This 
information will be maintained in the Licensing Information System 
by the Director of Administration and Management at One 
Commerce Plaza, 99 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12231-0001. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 

It is important that you notify this office of any changes to your 
mailing address so you can receive renewal notices and 

any other notifications pertinent to your license. 

WOULD YOU LIKE TO REGISTER TO VOTE? 
 
Please visit the NY State Board of Elections at www.elections.ny.gov/votingregister.html  
or call 1-800-FOR-VOTE to request a NYS Voter Registration form.  
 
To register online, please visit www.ny.gov/services/register-vote.   

http://www.elections.ny.gov/votingregister
http://www.ny.gov/services/register-vote
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New York State  
Department of State 

Division of Licensing Services 
P.O. Box 22001             

Albany, NY 12201-2001 
Customer Service: (518) 474-4429 

      https://dos.ny.gov 

Home Inspector Application 

PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE ALL RESPONSES IN INK.  Illegible applications will be returned for clarification, causing delays in licensure. 

I am applying:  (check one) 
 As the principal/owner/partner, As the principal/member/officer, 
 I affirm the below business is filed with the I affirm the below business is filed with the 
 Office of the County Clerk Division of Corporations 
         Trade Name (complete Sections A and B)                                       Limited Liability Company or Limited Partnership 
       (conducts business as a sole proprietorship, doing business                          (complete Sections A and B) 
                 as a name other than his or her own name)                                                     (conducts business under a limited liability company,  
                                                                                                                                           limited partnership or assumed name)  
     
 Partnership (complete Sections A and B)                                       Corporation (complete Sections A and B) 
                (conducts business under the partnership name only)                                     (conducts business under the corporate name or assumed name) 

OR 
I am applying as an: 

Individual (complete Section A) 
                                                                                    (Conducts business using his or her personal name only)   
 

Section A Applicant’s Name:                                            APPLICANT INFORMATION 
  Last  First M.I. Suff. 
 
 
 
  Residence Street Address (Required)                                    P.O. Box (mailing purposes only) Apt. Number 
 
 

 
  City State Zip+4 County 
 
 
 
  Date of Birth  Social Security Number (See Privacy Notification) Federal Taxpayer ID (See Privacy Notification) 
 
 
  
  E-mail Address (If any)  Daytime Telephone Number (If problem with application) 
 
 
 
 
 

BUSINESS INFORMATION 
Section B Home Inspector Business Name (If applying other than individual): 
 

 
 
Mailing Address - Please complete this section if you want your information to be mailed to an address other than your 
residence address. 
  Business Name  

 
 

  Street Address 
 
 
  City State Zip+4 County 
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Home Inspector Application 

1.  BACKGROUND DATA YES or NO 
 (Answer the following questions by checking either “YES” or “NO”) 
 All applicants must complete this section.  If you do not complete it, your application will be returned. 
  
 1.  Do you have a high school diploma or its equivalent?        
 
 2.  Have you ever held a home inspector license issued by the State of New York?  
       IF “YES,” what year?                               Unique ID No.  
    
 3.  Do you hold a valid home inspector’s license in another state?  
       IF “YES,” which state?  
      
 4.  Have you ever been convicted of a crime that is a misdemeanor or a felony?  

 IF “YES,” you must submit a written explanation and provide a copy of the court  records detailing the allegations  
of the offense and how the case was resolved. If you have received a Certificate of Relief from Disabilities, Certificate  
of Good Conduct or Executive Pardon, you must submit a copy with this application. 

 
 5.  Are there any criminal charges (misdemeanors or felonies) pending against you in any court?  
       IF “YES,” you must submit a written explanation and provide a copy of the court records detailing the allegations  
  of the offense.  
 
 6.  Has any license or permit issued to you or a company in which you are or were a principal ever been revoked,  
  suspended or denied? 
       IF “YES,” you must provide all relevant documents, including the agency determination, if any.  
 
2.  QUALIFICATION METHOD: (check one) 
 
                     Education  
   ●      Must submit original course completion certificates of 140 hours of approved schooling which includes 40 hours of unpaid field-based 
    training. 
   ● If 40 hours of unpaid field-based training was obtained from other than an approved school you must also submit ATTACHMENT A. 

 AND 
   ● Must provide evidence of passing the NYS Home Inspector Licensing Examination or the National Home Inspector Examination. 
 

OR 
                 Experience 
   ● Must submit evidence of having performed not less than 100 home inspections (paid or unpaid) in the presence of and under the direct 
    supervision of a Home Inspector licensed by NYS, or a professional engineer or architect regulated by NYS.  You must submit 
    ATTACHMENT B. 
   AND 
   ● Must provide evidence of passing the NYS Home Inspector Licensing Examination or the National Home Inspector Examination. 

OR 
                 Licensed Architect or Professional Engineer 
   ● Must submit copy of license. 
 
 
3.  LIABILITY COVERAGE AFFIRMATION 
  I hereby affirm, the General Liability insurance coverage in the minimum amount of $150,000 per occurrence and $500,000 aggregate, as prescribed  
  In §444-K(1) of the Home inspection Professional Licensing Act, has been secured and will be maintained. 
 
4. CHILD SUPPORT STATEMENT 

 By signing this application, I certify that as of the date of this application, I am not under an obligation to pay child support OR if I am under an 
 obligation to pay child support, I am not four or more months in arrears in the payment of child support, or I am making payments by income  
 execution or by court agreed payment or repayment plan or by plan agreed to by the parties or my child support obligation is the subject of a pending 

          court proceeding, or I am receiving public assistance or supplemental security income.        

 
5. APPLICANT AFFIRMATION - I affirm that I have read and understand the provisions of Article12-B of the Real Property Law and the rules  

 and regulations promulgated thereunder.  I further affirm that Worker’s Compensation Insurance/Disability Benefits, for all employees, if applicable, has 
 been secured.  I further certify, under the penalties of perjury, that the information given above is true to the best of my knowledge and belief.  I understand 
 that any material misstatement made may result in the revocation or suspension of the license if issued.       

X                                                                                                                                     
                Applicant’s Signature                                                                                 Date  
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This form may be duplicated. 

A Home Inspection Application 
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PRINT NAME  

Unpaid Field Based Training Log* 
40 Hour Requirement 

 
   Applicants should submit this log only if training was not completed at a NYS approved school.  A school certificate will be issued in lieu of this log for those applicants who completed the required hours of 
   training through a school. 
 
    Date of  Address of Inspected Property  # of hours              Name and Unique ID #                             Signature 
          Home    claimed for            of Supervising Inspector** 
        Inspection    Inspection             
 
 
 
 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

*Log is subject to verification by this office. 
**If supervisor is not a licensed home inspector, please indicate profession, i.e. architect or engineer. 

I certify that the information given on this log is true to the best of my knowledge and belief. I understand that any material 
misstatement made may result in the revocation or suspension of any license/certification issued. 



This form may be duplicated. 

B Home Inspection Application 
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PRINT NAME 
Experience Log* 

100 Home Inspections Required – Unpaid or Paid 

      Date of   Address of Inspected Property     Name and Unique ID #   Signature 
  Home Inspection   of Supervising Inspector** 

*Log is subject to verification by this office
**If supervisor is not a licensed home inspector, please indicate profession, i.e. architect or engineer. 

I certify that the information given on this log is true to the best of my knowledge and belief. I understand that any material 
misstatement made may result in the revocation or suspension of any license/certification issued.



 
A COMPLETED APPLICATION MUST INCLUDE: 

(Use this checklist to ensure you have included/completed all requirements) 
If you do not complete all required responses, your application will be returned. 

 
Page 3 
You must check one box in the section for "I am applying as"  
 
Applicant Information: 
    Complete "Applicant Information". 
Business Information (if applicable): 

 Business Name:  Clearly print or type the business name under which you will conduct business (as it appears on the 
filing receipt or business certificate).    

 Mailing Address:  Only complete this section if you would like your information mailed to an address other than your 
residence.   

 
Page 4 
Background Data:  If you answered YES to questions 4, 5 or 6: 

 Question #4 - court documentation which MUST be submitted:  A copy of the certificate of disposition from the court 
AND a copy of the accusatory instrument * from the court. 

 Question #5 - court documentation which MUST be submitted:  A copy of the accusatory instrument * from the court 
AND adjournment notice(s) indicating future court date(s) from the court. 

 Question #6 - you must provide all relevant documents, including the agency determination, (if any). 
* An accusatory instrument is a document that is used by prosecutors and the criminal courts to charge and prosecute 
someone accused of a crime(s) and details the facts and circumstances surrounding the crime(s).  This could be an 
Indictment, Superior Court Information, Criminal Complaint, etc. 

Qualification Method: 
 Check the box that reflects how you are qualifying for the license. 

 
Liability Coverage Affirmation:  You must secure and maintain general liability coverage in a minimum amount of $150,000 per 
occurrence and $500,000 aggregate.  (You are not required to submit proof of coverage with your application but must be available 
for review upon request.) 
Child Support Statement: (read) 
Applicant Affirmation:   
  Sign your name and date the application. 
 
Page 5 
Unpaid Field Based Training Log – 40 Hour Requirement 
  Complete all portions of the log only if your training was not completed at a NYS approved school. 
Page 6 
Experience Log – 100 Home Inspections Required – Unpaid or Paid 
  Complete all portions of the log only if you are applying based on Experience.   
  
 
Additional Items to be submitted with your application 
Examination Slip: 
  Attach the passed exam notification (NYS written exam results cannot be more than 2 years old). 
 
Application fee: 
  $250.00 payable to the NYS Department of State. (see instructions for acceptable payment methods). 
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Become an Organ and Tissue Donor 
Organ donors save lives. If you would like to be an organ and tissue donor upon your death, you may enroll in the 
NYS Donate Life Registry online at www.donatelife.ny.gov/register or complete the form below. Completed forms 
should be sent to the NYS Donate Life Registry by email --- Registry@donatelife.ny.gov or, mail - NYS Donate Life 
Registry, 185 Jordon Road, Troy, NY 12180. 
Fields with an asterisk (*) are required for enrollment. Upon receipt of your completed enrollment form, you will be 
sent an email or letter confirming your enrollment and providing you with information on how to limit your donation. 
I understand that by opting out of enrolling in the NYS Donate Life Registry, or skipping this question, will not impact 
or impair my ability to obtain services from the New York Department of State, Division of Licensing Services. 

*Last name 

*First name 

Middle Initial  Suffix 

*Address 

*Apt. Number   *Zip Code 

*City 

*Birth date    /   /             *Gender        M        F 
                         MM            DD               YYYY 

Email address 

DMV or IDNYC Number 

 
 

By signing below, you certify that you are: 
• 16 years of age or older; 
• Consenting to donate your organs and tissues for 

transplantation and/or research in the event of your death; 
• Authorizing the New York Department of State, Division of 

Licensing Services to transfer your name and identifying 
information to the NYS Donate Life Registry for 
enrollment; 
and 

• Authorizing the Registry to give access to this information 
to federally regulated organ procurement organizations 
and NYS-licensed tissue and eye banks and others 
approved by the NYS Commissioner of Health in the event 
of your death. 

*Sign     *Date 
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