Real Estate Appraiser
SHARE

Contact Executive Order - Extending Expiration Date of License

Executive Order – Extending expiration date of license

Effective March 27, 2020, pursuant to Executive Order 202.11, any license issued by the Division of Licensing Services or New York State Athletic Commission, that expires after that date, shall remain in effect until July 5, 2021. Further, the Appraisal Subcommittee of the Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council, has advised that appraisers within New York have been granted a 90-day deferment for meeting continuing education requirements. Any license holder that is eligible to renew and does not need the extension is encouraged to do so; all other license holders may rely on the above extensions. IF YOU ARE HAVING DIFFICULTY FINDING AN AVAILABLE CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE, PLEASE CONTACT THE DEPARTMENT AT (518) 474-4429. ALL REQUIRED CONTINUING EDUCATION MUST BE COMPLETED ON OR BEFORE July 5, 2021.

Please note licensees who submit a renewal after the expiration date printed on their license but by July 5, 2021 will see a change in their license term dates upon renewal, however, our office will maintain a record of the EO extension and your license will considered continuous licensure for this period.

Overview

A Real Estate Appraiser is a person who develops and communicates real estate appraisal and who holds a current, valid certificate issued to him or her for either general or residential real estate. Real Estate appraisal means an analysis, opinion or conclusion relating to the nature, quality, value or utility of specified interests in, or aspects of, identified real estate. It is the responsibility of licensees to understand the State Certified and Licensed Real Estate Appraisers License Law.

Term of licensure is two years.

Laws, rules and regulations 

Newly Adopted Continuing Education Requirements

Effective January 1, 2022

All real estate appraisers and assistants are required to successfully complete 28 hours of approved appraiser continuing education courses within their two year license renewal period. The education must include the seven-hour National USPAP update course and a course of study pertaining to Fair Housing and Fair Lending. A licensee who previously completed an approved course of study in Fair Housing, Fair Lending and Environmental Issues (RE-2) or (GE-1) prior to January 1, 2022, must complete either the designated four hour or seven hour course on Fair Housing and Fair Lending prior to renewal. A licensee who has NOT completed RE-2 or GE-1 prior to January 1, 2022, MUST complete the designated seven hour course on Fair Housing, Fair Lending prior to renewal. For all subsequent renewals, licensees must complete the seven-hour National USPAP update course and either the four hour or seven hour course of instruction pertaining to Fair Housing and Fair Lending within their two-year license/certification period prior to renewal. Courses will be available at approved schools in the near future and may be completed and applied toward your current continuing education requirements.

Please note that you must complete an additional 14 hours of approved continuing education for each year that has lapsed if you renew 185 days after the expiration date of your license.

Updates

Requirements

  • Submit a completed application and the required fee to the Department of State.
  • Education is required of all applicants and is based on the category of license/certification for which you are applying.
  • Courses are listed on the application and in the Real Estate Appraiser Law book, 19 NYCRR Part 1103. It is recommended that residential courses be taken sequentially.
  • A written examination is required (not available for appraiser assistant).
  • Experience is required of all applicants and is based on the category of license/certification for which you are applying. Applicants not meeting the experience requirements may be eligible for an appraiser assistant license.

See FAQs for more information

Course Providers

Course Providers offer the qualifying and continuing education courses for Real Estate Appraisers.

course providers

Applications:

Fees

There are fees associated a Real Estate Appraiser license. You may pay these fees by check or money order made payable to the Department of State or by MasterCard or Visa using a credit card authorization form. DO NOT SEND CASH. Application fees are nonrefundable. A $20 fee will be charged for any check returned by your bank.

Real Estate Appraiser:

  • $355 - Initial Application (includes $250 application, $80 federal registry and $25 examination application fees)
  • $125 - Written Exam (payable to test vendor)
  • $330 - Renewal
  • $200 - Late Renewal Penalty
  • $10 - Change of Personal Name and/or Address (No fee is required if a name change is the result of a change in marital status)
  • $10 - Duplicate License/Registration Request

Appraiser Assistant:

  • $250 - Initial Application
  • $125 - Written Exam (payable to test vendor)
  • $250 - Renewal
  • $200 - Late Renewal Penalty
  • $10 - Change of Personal Name and/or Address (No fee is required if a name change is the result of a change in marital status)
  • $10 - Duplicate License/Registration Request

 Temporary:

  • $125 – Initial Application

Reciprocal:

  • $330 – Initial Application

Written Exam

The Department of State has agreements with the Appraisers Qualification Board approved test providers to administer the National Uniform Licensing and Certification Examinations in New York State.  Below is a brief description of the exam process.

Original appraiser applications require a $25.00 examination application fee in addition to the original application fee.  Once the original application is approved and the applicant's examination eligibility is determined, an examination admission notice is mailed to the applicant.  The admission notice will include all of the necessary information for the applicant to register and schedule an examination with an approved test provider.  In addition, at the bottom of the admission notice is an admission card.  This card must be presented to the test center personnel in order to be admitted into the examination.

Upon receipt of the admission notice, the applicant should verify that the exam eligibility indicated on the form conforms to the level of licensure/certification for which the applicant has applied.  (Note: It is the responsibility of the applicant to ensure that the correct examination is taken at the test center) Once all of the information is verified, the applicant can contact any of the approved test providers listed on the admission notice to register for and schedule an examination.  The actual testing fees are established by the individual test providers and payable directly to them.  An applicant who requires special accommodations in order to test must inform the test provider when making an appointment.

The applicant will be provided with a score report at the test center location at the conclusion of the examination.

  • An applicant who has passed the examination will continue with the licensing/certification process.
  • An applicant who was not successful must obtain a new admission notice by submitting, to the Department, a new examination application and fee.

Real Estate Appraiser Examination Application/Re-Application

Renew or Update

Renew Your License

Real Estate Appraiser licenses may be conveniently renewed online using our online renewal application.

You are eligible to renew your license 90 days prior to your license expiration date. Your license expiration date is printed on the license.

Renew Online


Renewal forms are mailed approximately 90 days prior to the license expiration date. Complete and submit the renewal form to the address on the form.

If you are eligible to renew your license and you have not received a renewal form, email the Division of Licensing Services and request a form. Your email must include your full name, mailing address, license type, unique identification number and expiration date of your license.

Update Your License

To update your personal name, business or residence address download, complete and submit the Change Notice to the address on the form. 

To request a duplicate license certificate, complete and submit the Duplicate License/Registration Request to the address on the form.

Change Notice

Duplicate License/Registration Request

Apply

To apply for a Real Estate Appraiser license, submit a completed application to the NYS Department of State, Division of Licensing Services.

State Licensed/Certified Real Estate Appraiser Application

Additional Forms/Information:

Credit Card Authorization Form

NYS Board of Real Estate Appraisal

Licensee Search

Searches are limited to active licenses only. 

  • Search by ID Number (Unique ID or Registration Number)
  • Search by Name (last name, first name and optionally city/zip code/county)
  • Search by Business Name (business name and optionally city/zip code/county)

Real Estate Appraiser data is also available on the Open NY portal (Appraiser) where you will be able to browse, filter, sort, and export the data. The site will also allow the data to be accessed through an Application Programming Interface(API).

Every effort has been made to ensure that the information contained on this site is up to date and accurate. As the Department relies upon information provided to it, the information's completeness or accuracy cannot be guaranteed.

Please note that information pertaining to residence addresses is not included on this database. Such information is protected by privacy law.

Real Estate Appraisers disciplined for violation of the License Law:

FAQs

What is the Scope of Practice while performing FHA-HUD appraisals?

On September 14, 2015 revised standards were issued by the Federal Housing Administration (FHA) concerning single family appraisals subject to Housing and Urban Development (HUD) regulations. See generally, FHA Single Family Housing Policy Handbook, or Handbook 4000.1 (the “Handbook”) (Last Revised: 12/30/2016 - available at http://portal.hud.gov/hudportal/documents/huddoc?id=40001HSGH.pdf). The Handbook requires, among other things, that appraisers operate all conveyed appliances and observe their performance, ensure that electrical receptacles are working and analyze and report all repairs necessary for the subject property to meet HUD’s minimum property requirements (MPR) for existing properties or minimum property standards (MPS) for new construction.

It has come to the attention of the Department of State (DOS) that licensed and certified appraisers within the State of New York are concerned that compliance with the updated HUD regulations would violate state law regarding licensure of home inspection professionals. Insomuch as DOS regulates and has jurisdiction over both appraisal and home inspection professionals, we have reviewed the laws applicable to both practices and do not believe that licensed and certified appraisers violate the standards set forth for home inspectors by complying with the HUD regulations while performing an FHA appraisal. Appraisers should be aware of these requirements before accepting any FHA appraisal assignment and should not accept any assignment that is beyond the appraiser’s ability to perform.

What are the categories of licensure/certification, related fees, and terms of licensure?

Category Fee Term
State Licensed Real Estate Appraiser $355* 2 years
State Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser $355* 2 years
State Certified General Real Estate Appraiser $355* 2 years
State Licensed Real Estate Appraiser Assistant $250* 2 years
Temporary $125 1 year
Reciprocal $330 2 years

* $250 application fee, $80 federal registration fee and $25 examination application fee

What are the educational requirements?

Appraiser Assistant - Education: (79 hours)
In this category only: Qualifying education must be completed within the five year period prior to the date of application


R-1 and R-2 are not accepted as equivalent for R-5 and R-6.
Basic Appraisal Principles (R-5) 30 hours
Basic Appraisal Procedures (R-6) 30 hours
National USPAP 15 hours
Supervisory Appraiser/Trainee Appraiser Course 4 hours


State Licensed Residential Real Estate Appraiser Education: (150 hours)
In this categoryR-1 and R-2 are accepted as equivalent to R-5 and R-6
Basic Appraisal Principles (R-5) 30 hours
Basic Appraisal Procedures (R-6) 30 hours
National USPAP 15 hours
Residential Market Analysis and Highest/Best Use (R-7) 15 hours
Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach (R-8) 15 hours
Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approach (R-9) 30 hours
Residential Report Writing and Case Studies (R-10) 15 hours


State Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser - Education: (200 hours) plus one of the following:

OR

  1. Bachelor’s Degree in any field of Study;
  2. Associate’s Degree in a field of study related to:
    1. Business Administration;
    2. Accounting;
    3. Finance;
    4. Economics; or
    5. Real Estate
  3. 30 semester hours of college-level courses that cover each of the following specific topic areas and hours:
    1. English Composition (3 semester hours);
    2. Microeconomics (3 semester hours);
    3. Macroeconomics (3 semester hours);
    4. Finance (3 semester hours);
    5. Algebra, Geometry, or higher mathematics (3 semester hours);
    6. Statistics (3 semester hours);
    7. Computer Science (3 semester hours);
    8. Business or Real Estate Law (3 semester hours); and
    9. Two elective courses in any of the topics listed above or in accounting, geography, agricultural economics, business management, or real estate (3 semester hours each).
  4. Successful completion of at least 30 semester hours of College Level Examination Program (CLEP) examinations from each of the following subject matter areas;
    1. College Algebra (3 semester hours);
    2. College Composition (6 semester hours);
    3. College Composition Modular (3 semester hours);
    4. College Mathematics (6 semester hours);
    5. Principles of Macroeconomics (3 semester hours);
    6. Principles of Microeconomics (3 semester hours);
    7. Introductory Business Law (3 semester hours); and
    8. Information Systems (3 semester hours).
  5. Any combination of 3 and 4 above that ensures coverage of all topics and hours identified in 3.
  6. Held a Licensed Residential credential for a minimum of five (5) years with no record of any adverse, final, and non-appealable disciplinary action affecting the Licensed Residential appraiser’s legal eligibility to engage in appraisal practice within the five (5) years immediately preceding the date of application for a Certified Residential Credential.

In this categoryR-1 and R-2 are accepted as equivalent to R-5 and R-6
Basic Appraisal Principles (R-5) 30 hours
Basic Appraisal Procedures (R-6) 30 hours
National USPAP 15 hours
Residential Market Analysis and Highest/best Use (R-7) 15 hours
Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach (R-8) 15 hours
Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approach (R-9) 30 hours
Res. Report Writing and Case Studies (R-10) 15 hours
Statistics, Modeling and Finance (SMF) 15 hours
Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies (R-11) 15 hours
Introduction to Residential Income Properties (RE-1) 20 hours
OR
Fair Housing, Fair Lending and Environmental Issues (RE-2) 20 hours


State Certified General Real Estate Appraiser - Education: (300 hours) plus Bachelor’s Degree or higher in any field
In this category: R-1 and R-2 are accepted as equivalent to R-5 and R-6
AQ1 is accepted as equivalent for GE-1.
Basic Appraisal Principles (R-5) 30 hours
Basic Appraisal Procedures (R-6) 30 hours
National USPAP 15 hours
Gen. Market Analysis and Highest/best Use (G-4) 30 hours
Statistics, Modeling and Finance (SMF) 15 hours
General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach (G-5) 30 hours
General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach (G-6) 30 hours
General Appraiser Income Approach (G-7) 60 hours
General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies (G-8) 30 hours
Fair Housing, Fair Lending and Environmental Issues (GE-1) 15 hours
Specialty Appraisals (GE-2) 15 hours
OR
Using the HP12C Financial Calculator (GE-3) 15 hours

 

What are the continuing education requirements required prior to January 1, 2022?
All real estate appraisers and assistants are required to successfully complete 28 hours of approved appraiser continuing education courses, which must include the seven-hour National USPAP update course, within their two-year license/certification period prior to renewal. Please note that you must complete an additional 14 hours of approved continuing education for each year that has lapsed if you renew 185 days after the expiration date of your license.

 

What are the Newly Adopted Continuing Education Requirements effective January 1, 2022?

All real estate appraisers and assistants are required to successfully complete 28 hours of approved appraiser continuing education courses within their two year license renewal period. The education must include the seven-hour National USPAP update course and a course of study pertaining to Fair Housing and Fair Lending. A licensee who previously completed an approved course of study in Fair Housing, Fair Lending and Environmental Issues (RE-2) or (GE-1) prior to January 1, 2022, must complete either the designated four hour or seven hour course on Fair Housing and Fair Lending prior to renewal. A licensee who has NOT completed RE-2 or GE-1 prior to January 1, 2022, MUST complete the designated seven hour course on Fair Housing, Fair Lending prior to renewal. For all subsequent renewals, licensees must complete the seven-hour National USPAP update course and either the four hour or seven hour course of instruction pertaining to Fair Housing and Fair Lending within their two-year license/certification period prior to renewal. Courses will be available at approved schools in the near future and may be completed and applied toward your current continuing education requirements.

Please note that you must complete an additional 14 hours of approved continuing education for each year that has lapsed if you renew 185 days after the expiration date of your license.

I took the 7-hour continuing education 2020 - 2021 USPAP course, do I wait until 2023 to take the new 7-hour continuing education  USPAP course?

No, you need to take the 7-hour continuing education course once every two years. The extension of the 2020 -2021 USPAP course until December 31, 2022 does not impact the continuing education requirement. The 7-hour continuing education course is required to be taken once every two years as a way to offer appraisers a refresher on important cornerstones of the profession and offer practical applications for their appraisal practice.

What are the experience requirements?

State Licensed Real Estate Appraiser
1,000 hours of experience over a period of not less than 24 months is required.

State Certified Residential Appraiser
1,500 hours of experience over a period of not less than 24 months is required.

State Certified General Appraiser
3,000 hours of experience over a period of not less than 24 months is required.

Note: Experience must be obtained within the five-year period prior to submission of your application. To assure consistency and fairness in evaluating appraisal experience, the Department of State will use an "hourly system" that will serve as a guideline. The hourly system takes into consideration the number and type of appraisals performed and hours worked (including travel).


Do I have to provide experience documentation at the time of application?
No. However, applicants may be asked to verify claimed experience following initial licensure/certification. Therefore, you must have documentation in your possession to support all "claimed experience."

What is considered acceptable experience?

Experience credit will only be granted for hours actually worked on an appraisal assignment provided that no applicant shall be permitted to claim experience hours in excess of the maximum hours per assignment as provided for by Section 1102.3 of 19NYCRR.

Note: Review Appraisals may be used for qualifying experience credit only up to a maximum of 25% of the required hours.  

Class

Required Experience

Maximum Credit Allowed for Appraisal Review

State Licensed Real Estate Appraiser

1,000 hours

250 hours

State Certified Residential Appraiser

1,500 hours

375 hours

State Certified General Appraiser

3,000 hours

750 hours

 

  • Mass Appraisal Experience:
    In accordance with 19 NYCRR 1102.7 in the Real Estate Appraisal Law Book, applicants for licensure/certification may receive credit for mass appraisal experience. Please refer to and complete Attachment E of the application.


What if I have a combination of traditional and mass appraisal experience?
If you have combined experience, please refer to and complete Attachments C, D, E, and F of the application.


What is considered unacceptable experience?

  1. Market value estimates as a real estate licensee in connection with the listing and/or sale of real estate (i.e., "comparative market analysis") are unacceptable.
  2. Business appraisals are unacceptable. (Credit will be given for appraisals of individual parcels of commercial real estate.)
  3. Personal property appraisals are unacceptable.
  4. Feasibility or market analysis is unacceptable, except to the extent that the "market value" of a proposed real estate project is being estimated


What if I don't meet the necessary experience qualifications?
If you do not meet the experience qualifications, you may apply for an Appraiser Assistant license.


How do I qualify as a State Licensed Real Estate Appraiser Assistant?

State Licensed Real Estate Appraiser Assistant applicants must do the following:

  1. File an appraiser application with the $250 fee,
  2. Meet the minimum education requirements of a State Licensed Real Estate Appraiser,
  3. Be supervised in the conduct of their services by a New York State certified appraiser, who is approved by the Department of State as a Supervisory Appraiser. The Supervisory Appraiser must cosign the appraisal reports, and
  4. Utilize the same Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice as a state licensed or certified appraiser.

Upon satisfaction of the application requirements of the Department of State, the Department will issue a renewable 2-year State Licensed Real Estate Appraiser Assistant license.

Should an appraiser assistant acquire experience for licensed or certified appraiser, his or her application must comply with whatever examination and education requirements exist for that category at that time.

Is there reciprocity with other states?

Yes, with the exception of Appraiser Assistants. An applicant may be certified/licensed in New York State without examination and further qualification if the applicant provides proof and is certified/licensed in another state or territory:

  • Whose licensing program is in compliance with the provisions of Title XI of The Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery and Enforcement Act of 1989.
  • Whose examination has been approved by the Appraiser Qualification Board of the Appraisal Foundation.
  • Who has licensing and certification qualification requirements that meet or exceed those of New York State.

Reciprocity applicants must submit the following:

  • A completed appraiser application (p. 5 and 6) with $330 (application and federal registration fee)

The term for a reciprocal license/certification is 2 years.

How do I apply for a temporary license/certification?

On occasion, a nonresident appraiser may wish to conduct business of a temporary nature in New York State. The applicant may be issued a temporary license/certificate to perform appraisals in New York State if the applicant is certified/licensed in another state or territory:

  • whose program has been officially endorsed by the Federal Appraisal Subcommittee.
  • whose examination has been approved by the Appraiser Qualification Board of the Appraisal Foundation.

Nonresident temporary applicants must submit the following:

  • A completed appraiser application (p. 5 and 6) with $125 application fee

NOTE: Applicants May Not Maintain an Office that Provides Appraisal Services to Clients in New York State.

The term is for one year and cannot be renewed.

I am a licensed real estate appraiser. Am I required to identify my license status on an appraisal report or contract?
Real property appraisal activities, including the appraisal report and contract for services, must include the title, "State Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser," "State Certified General Real Estate Appraiser," or "State Licensed Real Estate Appraiser," as appropriate. Additionally, the certification or license number of the appraiser must be set forth adjacent to or immediately below such title. (Section 160-r of the Executive Law)


What if it has been more than two years since my last license/certification expired?
If it has been more than two years since the expiration of the applicant's last license, the applicant must file a new application, meet the current qualifying education requirements, meet the current experience requirements, and pass the appropriate appraiser examination.

Note: Qualifying experience can never be more than 5 years old. See 19 NYCRR §1102.1.

* Experience credit will only be granted for hours actually worked on an appraisal assignment provided that no applicant shall be permitted to claim experience hours in excess of the maximum hours per assignment as provided by Section 1102.3 of 19 NYCRR.

Who needs to take the Supervisory Appraiser/Trainee Appraiser course?
As of January 1, 2015, all new Supervisory Appraisers and new Appraiser Assistants must complete the course prior to application.  Supervisory Appraisers approved prior to January 1, 2015 must have completed the course prior to entering into a new supervisor/trainee relationship. Supervisory Appraisers approved prior to January 1, 2015 who did not enter into a new supervisor/trainee relationship must have completed the course by December 15, 2015. You may be asked to provide proof of completion to our office during an audit.


I am currently a credentialed Trainee Appraiser.  Am I required to take the Supervisory Appraiser/Trainee Appraiser course?  
Trainee Appraisers who held a license prior to January 1, 2015 do not need to complete the course.  Trainee Appraisers applying after January 1, 2015 must complete the course.


How long is the Supervisory Appraiser/Trainee Appraiser course valid?
There is no specified time of validity.  The course is a prerequisite for Supervisory Appraisers to supervise and for Trainee Appraisers to obtain a credential. 


Does a Trainee Appraiser who has already taken the required Supervisory Appraiser/Trainee Appraiser course need to take the course again when becoming eligible to be a Supervisory Appraiser?
Taking the course as a Trainee Appraiser satisfies the requirement if the Trainee later becomes a Supervisory Appraiser.


I am a Supervisory Appraiser who recently upgraded from Certified Residential to Certified General. Am I allowed to continue to supervise my Trainee Appraisers or do I need to wait until I have held the Certified General credential for three years? 
Yes. You are allowed to continue to supervise your current Trainee Appraisers. However, you must be competent in the property type and the geographic location of your practice. You may supervise the Trainee Appraiser in both residential and non-residential assignments that you are competent to appraise. You may not supervise a trainee obtaining Certified General experience until you have held the Certified General credential for three years. 


I am a certified appraiser who recently obtained my license in New York State through reciprocity with another state.  I have been certified for more than three years and also took the required course for Supervisory Appraisers/Trainee Appraisers in the other state.  Can I supervise Trainee Appraisers in New York State?
Effective July 1, 2016, while Supervisory Appraisers must still be state certified appraisers in good standing for a minimum of three years prior to supervising, they no longer need to be state certified and in good standing in the jurisdiction in which the Trainee Appraiser practices.


Can the Supervisory Appraiser/Trainee Appraiser course completed in New York State be used for continuing education?
Yes, completion of this course by an appraiser can be applied toward the continuing education requirement if completed within an appraiser's two year licensing term.


Do I need a password in order to renew my license online?
No, a password is not needed to renew your license online.

My business name or business address is different?
No, you cannot renew online if the business name or business address is different than the information contained in the on-line renewal system. If your business name or business address has changed, use the renewal notice you received in the mail, and follow the instructions for business name/business address change, or contact the Division of Licensing Services Customer Service Representatives at (518) 474-4429, for further assistance.

I didn't get my renewal license in the mail? Can I still renew online?
Yes, you can. You should confirm that the information contained on the online application is current and then complete the process.

How much does it cost to renew my license online?
You will be shown your renewal fee before being asked to complete the transaction. The cost is the same as for other methods of renewing your license. There is no additional charge for renewing online.

How do I pay for my renewal?
You can pay for your renewal using one of the following credit cards:
MasterCard
Visa

My license has already expired, (or is expiring very soon) can I renew online?
If your license has expired, or is expiring very soon, you may use online renewal. However, while a processed online renewal will cause your Division of Licensing Services record to be updated, you will have to allow 2-4 weeks for your new license to arrive in the mail.

We suggest you print the confirmation page, which will serve as proof that your renewal was submitted and is in process.

Attention Real Estate Appraisers: To avoid an additional $200 penalty fee, the renewal must be received by this office no later than 30 days after the expiration date of your current license/certification.


What if it has been more than 2 years since my last license expired?
A license expired more than 2 years cannot be renewed. You should contact the Division of Licensing Services Customer Service at (518) 474-4429 for further assistance.


What continuing education do individuals who hold an appraiser license or certification need in order to renew?
All real estate appraisers and assistants are required to successfully complete 28 hours of approved appraiser continuing education courses, which must include the seven-hour National USPAP update course, within their two-year license/certification period prior to renewal.

If you are renewing after your license has expired (i.e., after the date printed on your license), you may be required to complete additional education.  For example, if you renew your license 185 days or more after the date printed on your license, you must complete an additional 14 hours of education (i.e., a total of 42 hours before renewing); if you are renewing more than 365 days after the date printed on your license, you must complete an additional 28 hours of education (i.e., a total of 56 hours before renewing).

It is the responsibility of the licensee to maintain records of course completion to be submitted as proof when requested by the Department of State.

How will I know what amount is being charged to my credit card? How will I know my transaction worked? Will I get a receipt?
You will be shown the renewal fee before you are asked to complete the transaction. The fee amount is also shown on the confirmation that you receive after submitting your order. Your credit card statement should also identify your charge as
“NYS Licensing (518) 474-4429.”

How long will it take to get my renewed license?
Please allow at least 2-4 weeks to receive your new license by mail. Due to variations in mailing time, some orders may take a little longer.

If you do not receive your new license, you may contact the Division of Licensing Services Customer Service at (518) 474-4429. You will be asked to provide your cash number when you call.

What are the hours to renew online?
Online renewal is normally available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Most renewals will be processed immediately.


Can I cancel my online renewal?
You can back out of the renewal at any point up until you click the submit button on the payment form.


Is there a NYS Board of Real Estate Appraisal?

Yes. NYS Board of Real Estate Appraisal

How can I file a complaint?

Appraisal Complaint National Hotline (pdf)

Contact

Mailing Information:

Albany Mailing Address
NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
P.O. Box 22001
Albany, NY 12201-2001

To ensure prompt delivery of your mail, it is important that you utilize the above mailing address.

Please note: If you utilize express services or next day ground services such as UPS, Federal Express, DHL, etc. you should use the physical address of the building.
The physical address of the Albany location is:

Albany Physical Address
Division of Licensing Services
1 Commerce Plaza
99 Washington Avenue, 6th Floor
Albany, NY 12231


Phone Information:

General Information (518) 474-4429
Security Guard and Armored Car Guard Information (518) 474-7569

Call Center Representatives are available from 8:30am to 4:30pm Monday through Friday except on Legal Holidays.

Deaf, hard of hearing and speech-disabled callers, please use 7-1-1

For all other inquiries, email Licensing Services


Visitor Information:

Please monitor this page for updates to office closures.

Out of an abundance of caution and in line with recent guidance issued by the Center for Disease Control and New York State, In Person Customer Services Centers are currently closed due to COVID-19. All customers should call (518) 474-4429. Call Center Representatives are available from 8:45am to 4:30pm Monday through Friday except on Legal Holidays.
 

Parking
Limited on street metered parking is available for 1 Commerce Plaza in Albany. The Office of General Services has various parking lots throughout downtown Albany which have limited visitor parking. To find out more information about the OGS lots, please visit their website.  

Albany: This office is closed until further notice
NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
1 Commerce Plaza
99 Washington Avenue, 6th Floor
Albany, NY 12231
(Customer Service hours 9:00am - 4:30pm)

New York City: This office is closed until further notice
NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
123 William St. 2nd Fl.
New York, NY 10038-3804
(Licensing Services customer service hours 9:00am to 4:30pm)
(Apostille/Certification of Authentication customer service hours 9:00am to 3:30pm)

Binghamton: This office is closed until further notice
NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
State Office Building 44 Hawley Street, Room 1506
Binghamton, NY 13901-4455
(518) 474-4429 (customer service hours 9:00am to 3:00pm)

Buffalo: This office is closed until further notice
NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
65 Court Street, Room 208
Buffalo, NY 14202-3471
(518) 474-4429 (customer service hours 9:00am - 3:00pm)

Hauppauge: This office is closed until further notice
NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
State Office Building
250 Veterans Memorial Highway
Hauppauge, NY 11788-5519
(518) 474-4429 (customer service hours 9:00am to 3:00pm)

Utica: This office is closed until further notice
NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
State Office Building
207 Genesee Street
Utica, NY 13501-2812
(518) 474-4429 (customer service hours 9:00am to 3:00pm)