Security or Fire Alarm Installer
SHARE

Contact Executive Order - Extending Expiration Date of License

Executive Order – Extending expiration date of license

Effective March 27, 2020, pursuant to Executive Order 202.11, any license issued by the Division of Licensing Services or New York State Athletic Commission, that expires after that date, shall remain in effect until June 9, 2021. Further, the Appraisal Subcommittee of the Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council, has advised that appraisers within New York have been granted a 90-day deferment for meeting continuing education requirements. Any license holder that is eligible to renew and does not need the extension is encouraged to do so; all other license holders may rely on the above extensions. IF YOU ARE HAVING DIFFICULTY FINDING AN AVAILABLE CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE, PLEASE CONTACT THE DEPARTMENT AT (518) 474-4429. ALL REQUIRED CONTINUING EDUCATION MUST BE COMPLETED ON OR BEFORE June 9, 2021.

Please note licensees who submit a renewal after the expiration date printed on their license but by June 9, 2021 will see a change in their license term dates upon renewal, however, our office will maintain a record of the EO extension and your license will considered continuous licensure for this period.

Overview

A Security or Fire Alarm Installer is a person who holds himself out directly or indirectly, as being able, or who offers or undertakes, by any means or method, to install, service or maintain a security or fire alarm system to detect intrusion, break-in, movement, sound or fire. It is the responsibility of licensees to understand the Business of Installing, Servicing or Maintaining Security or Fire Alarm Systems License Law License Law.

Term of licensure is two years

laws, rules and regulations 

Requirements

  • Submit a completed application and the required fee to the Department of State.
  • Be 18 years old
  • Proof of Fingerprint completion
  • Completion of at least 81 hours of qualifying education
  • Passage of an alarm installer examination

Master Electrician Waiver

Course Providers

Below is a list of organizations that have submitted their course work to this office and received approval to offer the Security or Fire Alarm System Installer qualifying courses in order satisfy the educational licensing requirement for the Business of Installing Security or Fire Alarm Systems. You may contact the organizations to obtain the address where the course is presented.

Please note that course approval is issued on an annual basis, therefore, you should contact the organization directly to verify whether they have renewed their program for the current period. You may also contact the Department of State, Division of Licensing Services at (518) 474-4429 to obtain this information.

Below is information pertinent to the offering of the Security or Fire Alarm System Installer qualifying courses:

Applicants for a Security or Fire Alarm Installer license must satisfy the education requirement by completing the prescribed courses consisting of four 15-hour modules and one 21 hour module as listed below and must pass the final examination for each module. Proof of successful completion of the required courses must be furnished to the Department of State by an original certificate at the time of application:

Module 1 - Installations: Standards, Codes and Techniques
Module 2 - Control Panels and Alarm Transmissions
Module 3 - Security Systems
Module 4 - Fire Technology
Module 5 - Service and Maintenance of Alarm Systems

Attendance Requirements Pursuant to 19 NYCRR 196.10 (a):

To satisfactorily complete any course offered for study, a person must physically attend 12 hours of each 15 hour course offering and 18 hours of each 21 hour course offering, exclusive of sessions devoted to examinations.

Final examinations may not be presented to any students who have not completed the attendance requirements.

Continuing Education - There are no continuing education requirements at this time.

Security or Fire Alarm Installer Course Providers

ELECTRICAL TRAINING CENTER INC.
65 ELM ST.
COPIAGUE, NY 11726
(631) 226-8021

NATIONAL TRAINING SCHOOL
PO BOX 610605
2222 SOUTH SERVICE ROAD, SUITE 230
DALLAS, TX 75261
(888) 447-1689

METROPOLITAN BURGLAR & FIRE ALARM ASSOC.
2133 66TH ST
BROOKLYN, NY 11204
(718) 894-6712

NEW YORK LOW VOLTAGE CONTRACTOR’S ASSOCIATION, INC.
2133 66TH Street
BROOKLYN, NY 11204
(718) 894-6712

Applications:

Fees

There are fees associated with a Security or Fire Alarm Installer license. You may pay these fees by check or money order made payable to the Department of State or by MasterCard or Visa using a credit card authorization form. DO NOT SEND CASH. Application fees are nonrefundable. A $20 fee will be charged for any check returned by your bank.

  • $200 - Initial Application (License without examination)
  • $185 - Initial Application (License after examination)
  • $100 - Renewal
  • $50 - Local Jurisdiction Applicants Only (Master Electricians)
  • $50 - Renewal (Master Electricians)
  • $60 - Late Renewal Penalty
  • $15 - Written Exam
  • $88.75 - Fingerprinting Fee, Support Staff/Employee Statement
    (payable to IDEMIA)
  • $25 - Duplicate License/Registration Request
  • $10 - Change of Personal Name and/or Address (No fee is required if a name change is the result of a change in marital status)

Written Exam Information

Renew or Update

Renew Your License

You are eligible to renew your license 90 days prior to your license expiration date. Your license expiration date is printed on the license.

Renewal forms are mailed approximately 90 days prior to the license expiration date. Complete and submit the renewal form to the address on the form.

If you are eligible to renew your license and you have not received a renewal form, email the Division of Licensing Services and request a form. Your email must include your full name, mailing address, license type, unique identification number and expiration date of your license.

Update Your License

To update your personal name, business or residence address, download, complete and submit the Change Notice to the address on the form.

To request a duplicate license certificate, download, complete and submit the Duplicate License/Registration Request to the address on the form.

Change Notice

Duplicate License/Registration Request

Apply

To apply for a Security or Fire Alarm Installer license, submit a completed application to the NYS Department of State, Division of Licensing Services.

Additional Forms/Information:

Special Testing Arrangements Request

Licensee Search

Searches are limited to active licenses only. 

Search by ID Number (Unique ID or Registration Number)

Search by Name (last name, first name and optionally city/zip code/county)

Search by Business Name (business name and optionally city/zip code/county)

Every effort has been made to ensure that the information contained on this site is up to date and accurate. As the Department relies upon information provided to it, the information's completeness or accuracy cannot be guaranteed.

Please note that information pertaining to residence addresses is not included on this database. Such information is protected by privacy law.

FAQs

Do I need a license to install an alarm system in a motor vehicle?

No. A license is not required to install systems on motor vehicles, boats or airplanes.

Do I need a license to install a battery-operated smoke detector?

No. A license is not required to install a battery-operated smoke detection device. However, a person who is in the business of installing a hard-wired smoke detector must be licensed.

Does my employee need a license to install a system on my property?

No. If a purchaser or owner personally installs the alarm system, or has it installed by an employee on his or her own property or place of business, a license is not required.

Will I be notified when my employee has qualified for employment?

Yes. Beginning June 11, 2015, Alarm Installers will receive a letter when their employees have submitted a “Business of Installing, Servicing or Maintaining Security or Fire Alarm Systems Employee’s Statement” and have qualified for employment.

Are there any Security or Fire Alarm Associations?

Yes.

 

Contact

Mailing Information:

Albany Mailing Address
NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
P.O. Box 22001
Albany, NY 12201-2001

To ensure prompt delivery of your mail, it is important that you utilize the above mailing address.

Please note: If you utilize express services or next day ground services such as UPS, Federal Express, DHL, etc. you should use the physical address of the building.
The physical address of the Albany location is:

Albany Physical Address
Division of Licensing Services
1 Commerce Plaza
99 Washington Avenue, 6th Floor
Albany, NY 12231


Phone Information:

General Information (518) 474-4429
Security Guard and Armored Car Guard Information (518) 474-7569

Call Center Representatives are available from 8:30am to 4:30pm Monday through Friday except on Legal Holidays.

Deaf, hard of hearing and speech-disabled callers, please use 7-1-1

For all other inquiries, email Licensing Services


Visitor Information:

Please monitor this page for updates to office closures.

Out of an abundance of caution and in line with recent guidance issued by the Center for Disease Control and New York State, In Person Customer Services Centers are currently closed due to COVID-19. All customers should call (518) 474-4429. Call Center Representatives are available from 8:45am to 4:30pm Monday through Friday except on Legal Holidays.
 

Parking
Limited on street metered parking is available for 1 Commerce Plaza in Albany. The Office of General Services has various parking lots throughout downtown Albany which have limited visitor parking. To find out more information about the OGS lots, please visit their website.

Albany: 
This office is closed until further notice
NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
1 Commerce Plaza
99 Washington Avenue, 6th Floor
Albany, NY 12231
(Customer Service hours 9:00am - 4:30pm)

New York City: 
This office is closed until further notice
NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
123 William St. 2nd Fl.
New York, NY 10038-3804
(Licensing Services customer service hours 9:00am to 4:30pm)
(Apostille/Certification of Authentication customer service hours 9:00am to 3:30pm)


Binghamton: 
This office is closed until further notice
NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
State Office Building 44 Hawley Street, Room 1506
Binghamton, NY 13901-4455

(518) 474-4429 (customer service hours 9:00am to 3:00pm)

Buffalo: 
This office is closed until further notice
NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
65 Court Street, Room 208
Buffalo, NY 14202-3471

(518) 474-4429 (customer service hours 9:00am - 3:00pm)

Hauppauge: 
This office is closed until further notice
NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
State Office Building
250 Veterans Memorial Highway
Hauppauge, NY 11788-5519

(518) 474-4429 (customer service hours 9:00am to 3:00pm)

Utica: 
This office is closed until further notice
NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
State Office Building
207 Genesee Street
Utica, NY 13501-2812

(518) 474-4429 (customer service hours 9:00am to 3:00pm)